3 pole rocker


  #1  
Old 12-19-19, 07:22 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
3 pole rocker

How to install a 3 pole rocker 12/2 coming in and 14/3 going out to the switch poles and ceiling fan box?
 
  #2  
Old 12-19-19, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If that 12/2 is on a 20A circuit....... you'll need to use 12/3 to the fan.
What is a 3 pole rocker ? Do you have a link to it ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-19, 05:25 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,962
Received 725 Upvotes on 641 Posts
I suspect they mean a 3 pole rocker switch.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-19, 04:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Ok...... but what is a 3 pole rocker switch. A common input switch to three separate loads ?
If that is the case......
The white wires get joined together.
The black wire from the two wire cable goes to the common of the switch.
The red of the three wire goes to one switch.
The black if the three wire goes to another switch.
 
  #5  
Old 12-23-19, 11:21 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thx PJMax, so with me using 12/2 coming in and 14/3 going out it wont work right ?
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-19, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
It will work but what is the circuit protected at..... what breaker size ?
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-19, 01:09 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
20amp breaker

20amp circuit breaker for the switch
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-19, 04:19 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,082
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi, a 20 Amp circuit breaker for the 12/2 then you need 12/3 to the fan.
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-19, 06:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
20amp

So it will not work with 14/3, but it comes on when I connect the blk/blu together, not trying to be a smart pants just trying to figure out, didn't kno different type of wires for lights matter !
 
  #10  
Old 12-31-19, 10:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
When you install house wiring...... it must be protected. The wire size determines the breaker size. You have #12 wiring that requires 20A breaker. #14 wiring would be protected by a 15A breaker.

If you use two different sized wiring..... the breaker matches the smallest sized wiring.

Now.... for us to help you with the switch..... we will need a make and model number of it OR an internet link to it OR a picture of it. How-to-insert-pictures.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: