Multiple switches + outlet on single circuit


  #1  
Old 01-03-20, 06:01 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Multiple switches + outlet on single circuit

I am installing 3 lights and one electrical outlet across 3 different rooms in an unfinished basement. One light in each room, each controlled by a single pole switch (no 3-ways needed for small rooms). The outlet will be at the end of the chain (in third room which also has a light). Based on the diagram below, my questions are:

-What wire do I use for the 'Line' label in the below diagram (bottom left corner of far left rectangle)? If I am using 12/2 throughout (on a 20A circuit and panel is nearby in the basement), is this a separate THHN-12 wire to run from the incoming 12/2 to the switch?

-To add another light, I can just add in an extra leg that mimics 'Phase 2' (upper right portion) of the below diagram, correct?

-To add the outlet (which will not be controlled by a switch) to the end of the chain, I can wire this as a 'standard/traditional' outlet wiring using the 12/2 coming out of my 3rd light switch?

Thanks in advance for the help.

<img src="https://www.electrical101.com/wpimages/multiple-light-switch-wiring-diagram-nm.png" width="735" height="715"/>
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-20, 07:41 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,031
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
The line wire is the one that is unswitched.
To add additional lights or receptacle you connect into the unswitched power in any of the boxes.
 
bcscasse voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-03-20, 07:57 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I am a novice that needs to think about it practically. The line wire comes out of a wire connector that is tied with hots from each of two 12/2 wires... the other end of the line wire connects to a switch. What actual wire do I use for this line wire between the connector and the switch? Not 12/2... so is it THHN (single wire)?
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-20, 11:29 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,031
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
What actual wire do I use for this line wire between the connector and the switch?
If the circuit is 20 amp then you use a piece of #12 wire. Normally you just use a left over piece of black wire from the #12 cable.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: