Wiring a new bathroom


  #1  
Old 01-05-20, 07:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: US
Posts: 122
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a new bathroom

Hello,
I'm in the process of finishing out a new bathroom in the basement. Framing is done, and switch boxes and outlet boxes are set. I have run a 10/2+G from the breaker box (20A) to a J-box above the ceiling (it will be accessible). There will be:

a combo fan/light
a shower light w/switch
one GFI outlet near the vanity
a second GFI outlet near the floor on another wall
a pair of vanity lights w/switch
a ceiling fixture w/switch in an adjacent closet framed in at the same time.

I have done a fair amount of electrical work in my time, mostly adding to existing circuits or in outbuildings, but this is a little more complex than I've done. I'm wondering if I could get one of you experts to save me some time and draw up a diagram showing the most efficient method (least amount of wiring)?

Incidentally, I think I should run 12 ga. to the non-vanity outlet, just in case someone in the future plugs in a high-output space heater. Good idea?

Thank you!
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-20, 07:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,108
Received 3,987 Upvotes on 3,579 Posts
Do you mean you ran 12-2 to a junction box ?
If yes..... all your wiring must be in #12.

Typically in a bathroom I run a 12-2 for receptacles and a 14-2 for lights and fans.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-20, 07:18 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,044
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
The above post is bit unclear. A 20 amp circuit must have all the wiring #12 or larger.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-20, 07:13 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: US
Posts: 122
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pjmax, thank you, now that you point that out, it makes perfect sense [head slap]. I was thinking like a plumber, running the largest size for the long run and then sizing down, but of course it doesn't work like that!

The main panel is full, but I am abandoning one circuit that formerly fed a whirlpool tub in the master bath (tub to be removed in the future), so I was planning to use that for this new bathroom.

I suppose that one solution would be to use the #10 run to power a new sub panel near the new bathroom, with two 15A breakers - one for lights and fan (#14) and one for the outlets (#12). Would that be acceptable?
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-20, 11:03 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,044
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
In US bathroom receptacle need to be a 20 amp circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-20, 12:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: US
Posts: 122
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK, so can I do as above (add a sub panel) with a 15A and a 20A breaker, using #14 (lights & fan) and #12 (outlets), respectively?
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-20, 01:51 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,044
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
Yes you can add a sub panel if you want.
Just remember the panel must be accessible with standing room in front of it.
 
  #8  
Old 01-06-20, 06:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: US
Posts: 122
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help, I appreciate the advice.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: