No power mystery- help !!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-20, 08:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power mystery- help !!

I woke up the other day and discovered I had lost power in my garage. I lost power at the outlet plug only. And because this plug is a GFCI and controls power to the other garage, I lost power in the other garage also. I checked every GFCI plug in the house and reset it. I have power everywhere in the house except the GFCI outlet plugs in the two garages. I have power going in to the first GFI outlet with the reset button. I replaced this GFI with a brand new one and put the wires exactly like they were on the old plug. The circuit breaker does not trip. I have 117 volts at this plug. But when I plug a device to test the outlet, nothing works. I tested the outlets in both garages that are not protected with GFI and they all have power. So clearly this is a GFCI issue and it has to do with this plug in the first garage because all the GFIs and appliances in my kitchen work. I would greatly appreciate your inputs to put me on the right track because now I am lost !!.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-20, 09:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,105
Received 133 Votes on 119 Posts
117 volts to what? Measure to neutral, not ground with a load like a light plugged in.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-20, 09:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh, so I should check for voltage between the line in ( black) and the white wire on the other side of the plug with a load plugged in.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-20, 09:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
With a load connected to the outlet, I get 115 volts between the black power in wire and both white neutral wires on the other side of the plug. However, the bulb does not turn on.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-20, 10:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,105
Received 133 Votes on 119 Posts
Then the receptacle or the light is bad.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-20, 10:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. It can not be the light because I tried several things to test and all are in good working order. None worked. I don't know what can go wrong with the receptacle. I have the correct power going to the GFCI. Maybe time for a professional . I do appreciate your input and trying to help me
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-20, 04:34 AM
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like you have the hot line wired to the load side not the line side of the GFCI outlet. If wired that way the breaker will not break but the power will be not be accessible as the GFCI is designed to prevent back surges. Basically you need to switch the wires from the top and bottom. Then everything should work fine.
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-20, 06:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,105
Received 133 Votes on 119 Posts
If you have power to the the receptacle and you have a good lamp the only thing in between is the receptacle.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-20, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Handyman_Shane you rock ! And thank you Joed as well. You were so right. I mistakenly connected the line wire to load and vice versa. I copied the wires from the old receptacle without paying attention to the instructions ON THE RECEPTACLE itself !! This is why I am NOT a licensed electrician haha This forum rocks really. You just saved me a bunch of money
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: