Two light-switches, one light

Old 01-17-20, 02:06 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Two light-switches, one light

Hi, I'm new to these parts, but today I need some advice and hence:

I live in a home built around 1970 in California, we purchased it about 10 years ago and haven't done major renovations. The issue at hand is that our hallway has two light switches at both ends of the hallway, and it takes both switches being in the ON position for there to be light.

My idea for a quick fix is that I replace one light switch with just a cover plate and splice the necessary wires together. (I've only just heard about the light switch tamper-cover, but it's too late for that now).

There are 3 wires behind the backing plate, with one leading up to the light bulb. Do I need to splice all 3 together? I do have a bag of wire connectors.

Old 01-17-20, 03:04 PM
J
Received 515 Upvotes on 420 Posts
You just need to fix the wire connections at the switches. Then the light switches will work properly.
Do you have any way to measure voltage?
Tell us about all the wires,except ground, in the switch boxes and we should be able to assist you.

Old 01-17-20, 03:20 PM
B
Received 292 Upvotes on 259 Posts
A light bulb requires at least 2 wires to operate, a hot and a neutral. You state 1 wire going from a switch box to the light. There has to be another wire going to the light from somewhere. Are you confusing a wire and cable (multiple wires)? Usually a hall light has 3 way switches at either end such that either switch can turn the hall light om or off. Is there a 3 wire cable between the 2 switches?

Old 01-18-20, 03:08 PM
S
Thanks, guys. So there was in fact another wire. I took a picture and this is what the setup looks like up to this point.

Attached Images  

Last edited by simonstiph; 01-18-20 at 03:17 PM. Reason: Added link to picture since direct JPG didn't work
Old 01-18-20, 05:10 PM
J