No electricity in only 1 room.


  #1  
Old 02-06-20, 02:42 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No electricity in only 1 room.

I live in a 4 bedroom house, yesterday when I was doing some work on a desktop computer. In the room, I was working in, the lights went ON and OFF around 4 times finally staying off. I checked the breaker box everything was on the ON position. I did eventually unplugged everything and turned the breaker OFF than On to the room but no luck. Does anyone have any ideas on how to solve this issue?
 
  #2  
Old 02-06-20, 02:59 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Try to find the last working outlet on that circuit. The problem is likely to be a loose wire back stabbed in outlet or a bad connection in wire nut. This problem happens at the last working outlet or the first not working outlet (could be a light fixture)
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-20, 03:02 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sadly they were all plugged and didn't see the last working one. Since u stated it might be a loose wire I guess I can go one by one since there are only 4 outlets and make sure everything is plugged right.
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-20, 03:08 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
If any wires are back stabbed move them to the screws. Turn breaker off and check to see if any more outlets are effected
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-20, 03:39 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I'm new to this and only replace GCFI ones that the wires are on under the screws is this what u would call backstabbed wires?<img src="https://firebasestorage.googleapis.com/v0/b/chat-application-cddbd.appspot.com/o/20200206_043320.jpg?alt=media&token=947b2d78-41b1-4791-a8b4-af014e4b3555" width="4160" height="3120"/>
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-20, 05:28 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 3,165
Received 288 Upvotes on 256 Posts
The pic shows the wires under the stabs, not the screws. Move the wires to under the screws. In post 1 you said the lights went on/off. Were those lights plugged into an outlet(s)? If the computer doesn't have battery backup, did it go on/off with the lights?
 
  #7  
Old 02-06-20, 06:36 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yea everything went off at the same time put all the wires under the screws tighten them and still nothing
 

Last edited by chris93g; 02-06-20 at 08:43 AM.
  #8  
Old 02-06-20, 09:05 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,951
Received 293 Upvotes on 263 Posts
Did you check the light fixtures?

Also do you have a meter and do you know how to use it?
 
  #9  
Old 02-06-20, 09:44 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
there is a fan and with a light on it which is off too but i haven't tried anything with that and I've been using the meter that looks like a pencil that beeps made sure it worked in other places of the house before i tried it in this room.
 
  #10  
Old 02-06-20, 09:49 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
This is why I said the last working outlet in circuit. Did you try all outlets in other rooms With this breaker off to see if a outlet in in there. Also look around for a gfci outlet any place in or around house. Bathrooms and garages are common places for them.
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-20, 09:56 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have tried the other outlets in the other rooms with the breaker off they seem fine.as for the GFCI outlets there's 1 in the bathroom 1 in the kitchen and 1 in the garage which I reset them all. So the fan with the light bulb could be the cause of all this?
 
  #12  
Old 02-06-20, 10:00 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Depends on house was wired. If they pulled wire to fan, light first there maybe some wire nuts up there that the rest of wiring comes off of. No way to tell without looking.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: