Relocating a Light Fixture


  #1  
Old 03-04-20, 07:47 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 88
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Relocating a Light Fixture

Hi. I would like to remove the 2 wall sconces pictured (only 1 is installed) and install a single light over the sink (to be installed). The 2 existing lights are controlled by a single light switch. If I managed to install a new box centered above the sink using one of the cables currently connected to one of the existing sconces, can I simply disconnect the unused cable from the light switch? So I would then have an unconnected cable within the walls, but not hooked up to any power source. The outlet pictured is on a different circuit.

What is the best way to accomplish this? Alternatively, how much would an electrician charge for this work? Thank you!




 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 03-04-20, 08:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
We can see one cable in the right box.
What is in the working light box ?

Typically the circuit goes from the switch to one light box and then the other. Based on that there may be two cables behind that working light. The jumper between them could be cut off and abandoned as it would be dead. You would use the cable that comes from the switch. It may not be easy to find the cable from the switch to the box. It could go thru the attic. You cannot splice in the wall. All splices must be in a box.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-20, 09:01 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 88
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Both light boxes are identical. I just had the one light installed...but they're the same. Both boxes are shallow and secured to a stud. There's just the one cable coming out of the box behind the installed light. I don't see where there would be a jumper unless it's in another box behind the wall somewhere.
 
  #4  
Old 03-05-20, 09:36 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,082
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi, how many cables are in the switch box?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 03-05-20, 01:34 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,965
Received 725 Upvotes on 641 Posts
The wires coming out from the right hand box! Are they directly from the left hand box going horizontal through the studs or as PJ suggested are they going up through the attic then back down to the box?
Both those wired boxes must be covered with a blank cover and not buried in the wall. Which ever box (left or right) is fed from the switch is the one you want to extend up to the ceiling, install a box and make a new overhead light location. Just cut the wires in the other box.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-20, 02:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,340
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
You will need to patch the existing light locations anyway so the easiest way would be to remove the drywall and reroute the existing cabling to the new light location. You would likely only need to remove a strip of drywall 2'x3'. Then reinstall the drywall (or new) tape and paint.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: