Smart Dimmer


  #1  
Old 04-13-20, 08:58 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smart Dimmer

Hey All!

so I'm installing a new dimmer switch to a single pole and the dimmer has a black a red a white and a green wire. When I opened up the existing switch it has 2 capped whites and 3 black wires. Using a non contact tester with the breaker still on but the light switch in the off position 2 of the 3 blacks set off the tester. Can I cap the two blacks that I'm assuming are lines to the red wire from my dimmer? The other black I'm assuming is load would go to the black and the whites to the white. I also saw 2 screws at the back of my metal box with a copper wire connecting them. Is that my ground?
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-20, 09:37 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,908
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
You have identified the line and load wires from the wall. I have no idea what the line and load wire colours of the dimmer are, but if match per the instructions you will be fine.
The white is the neutral and goes to the white bundle.
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-20, 07:37 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Joed! so I'm ok with doing the 2 line wires from my wall to the 1 from the dimmer correct? What about the 2 screws connected by a bare copper wire? is that my ground?
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-20, 07:45 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,908
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
I'm ok with doing the 2 line wires from my wall to the 1 from the dimmer correct?
yes three wires into a wire nut is fine.
Bare copper is your ground. Use a wire nut to connect the green.
 
hnams voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 04-14-20, 08:56 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the problem is the copper is connected between the two screws. should I add the green to 1 screw?
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-20, 09:03 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,057
Received 1,505 Votes on 1,393 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

the copper is connected between the two screws.
Not following. Between which two screws ?

Do you mean the copper ground wire goes to each switch ground screw ?
If yes...... you do the same thing you did with black.
Connect two short bare wires (tails) to the ground wire so that you have a single ground wire on each device.

If this doesn't answer you question... a picture may be helpful.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-20, 09:19 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
basically there are 2 screws at the back of my metal junction box with a bare copper connecting them
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-20, 10:02 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,057
Received 1,505 Votes on 1,393 Posts
If there are multiple cables..... typically the ground from one cable connects to the screw and then the other ground wires attach to that tail.
 
  #9  
Old 04-14-20, 12:20 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey PJ,

Sorry for all the noob questions. Attached are a few images to show what I am working with. The first is my current outlet the second is the 2 screws with the bare copper between them and the third is my new dimmer.
 
Attached Images    
  #10  
Old 04-14-20, 01:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,057
Received 1,505 Votes on 1,393 Posts
Take one of the wires off the box. Bring it out. Attach that wire to the dimmer and then add a short piece of bare copper as a tail. Connect that tail back to the box screw.

You're supposed to end up with only one wire per screw.
 
  #11  
Old 04-14-20, 01:49 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So remove one of the coppers attached to one of the screws attach it to the green wire on the dimmer and then another bare copper from the screw to the bare copper i just attached to the dimmer?
 
  #12  
Old 04-14-20, 02:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,057
Received 1,505 Votes on 1,393 Posts
Yes................. that is correct.
 
  #13  
Old 04-14-20, 02:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,908
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Looks like you might be in Ontario. That is how grounds are done here. Take a short piece of bare wire the same gauge as what you have. Put it under the other side of the screw with only one wire. Attach your green ground to that wire.
Note the shoulder beside the ground screw. That holds the wire in. You do not need to wrap the ground around the screw.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: