4 way switch to single pole


  #1  
Old 07-02-20, 06:40 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4 way switch to single pole

So I am a bit stumped. I canít find anything online on turning a 4 way switch circuit with 3 switches into a single pole switch. The reason is I want to install a Leviton caseta switch and two remotes rather than have 3 normal hard wired switches.

so I have attached 3 pictures.

The picture with the number one is a 3 way switch. I believe this one has the one with power coming in. As you can see the bottom black wire is going to another switch that is a single pole. I believe this hot black wire is always on and powers both the 4 way system and the single pole switch with another light in the room.

picture two is the 4 way switch. From what I can understand it just manages the travelers.

then I have switch 3. This is another 3 way switch.

I wonít be removing the boxes since I will be installing a pico remote on each one. What I would like to do is just have one hardwired switch that will control the system. The pico remotes will talk to the single pole switch. So I would like to just find a way to cap or connect the other wires together and leave them in the boxes permanently.

how do I start this project?!
thank you

<img src="https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/615x574/s1_8c45da9e6fa7ce371984a6f3842ed38a9ee4af9e.jpeg" width="615" height="574"/>

<img src="https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/670x525/s2_2c8f446629ba7a15a34addf8573d22832812d0f5.jpeg" width="670" height="525"/>

<img src="https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/554x515/s3_020229e4f6a238aae84d037dd78527f1d5511663.jpeg" width="554" height="515"/>
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-02-20 at 08:29 PM. Reason: cropped/resized pics
  #2  
Old 07-02-20, 08:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,937
Received 337 Votes on 290 Posts
I believe this is what you have.
At the first switch the two black connect to the new switch.
At the other two switches connect the blacks.
Cap all the reds.

<img src="https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/418x579/4waypw1stfd3rd_e87f4678072fb2a2ab46ae6e4c28263c6c4df0f7.jpg" width="418" height="579"/>
4 way
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 07-03-20, 08:44 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! This helped and I got it done in 10 min.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: