No Ground wire in my junction box.


  #1  
Old 08-22-20, 06:55 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No Ground wire in my junction box.

Hi all, i am currenlty planning to install a ceiling fan to this box. The fan has a green ground wire. But as you could see in the picture, my existing junction box does not have a ground/green wire.

Will it be fine if i connect the green ground wire on the Fan to one of the metal screws in the box?

This box already had a light fixture and the green wire of that lighting fixture was connected to one of the screw of the box. Just wanted to confirm, if i can do the same with my new fan.


<img src="https://cimg7.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/667x705/annotation_2020_08_20_003241_e6e15f9bdfa8301ff1db2170abaee2ea2069d593.png" width="667" height="705"/>
 
  #2  
Old 08-22-20, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
The conduit to the box supplies the box with ground.

The screw in the box in the top of the picture is the ground screw.
It should be and probably is green under the paint.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-20, 07:47 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PjMax, thanks a lot for your help again. I thought the same, but the existing light fixture's ground was connected to the srcrew in the enter of the junction box. Is it safe to use that or should i only be using the one at the top as suggested by you (the one with the flat head screw in my pic)
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-20, 10:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,993 Upvotes on 3,584 Posts
The hex head screw is the provided ground screw. I'd try to use that first.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: