Ceiling fan design/wiring with remote and wall switch


  #1  
Old 09-02-20, 09:32 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ceiling fan design/wiring with remote and wall switch

Just bought a new construction and each room is ceiling fan pre-wired with a wall switch. It's my first time installing ceiling fans so quite new at it. Installed 3 DC fans and 1 AC fan all of which had remotes and dimmer functionality, and no pull strings. They all work properly but none are controlled by the switch, either the light or fan. Each ceiling fan box had a black, white, copper, and red wire but I never used the red wire per install instructions. I removed a wall switch and found the below wire configuration.

<img src="https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/1500x2000/switch_pic_1_f3504636fde9abf7c76a41f2205c1cf2781d1ab3.jpg" width="1500" height="2000"/>

Am I correct to assume in order to use the switch I have to use the red wire, either to the light or the fan?
If the assumption is correct then below is what I would like to accomplish with the switch.

I would like to have the light be controlled by the wall switch, but since the light's on/off is controlled by the remote is it possible to wire it to the wall switch?

Or would I still need to turn the light on with the remote after turning on the wall switch?

If I do wire the light to the wall switch do I lose the dimmer functionality from the remote?

Spoke with someone who has done some electrical work, and they said it was either the remote or the wall but can't really use both. Seeing if any other opinions or experiences out there would differ.

Thanks,

 
  #2  
Old 09-02-20, 10:54 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,641
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
I never used a remote but just wiring to be controlled by the switch you usually connect the black wire to the fan and the red wire to the light kit. Is there a capped black in your switchbox?
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-20, 06:11 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,936
Received 336 Votes on 289 Posts
Yes you use the red wire for switch control.
Fans with remotes usually have separate box that sits up inside the fan canopy. If you want the switch to control the light you need to disconnect the light wire(usually blue) from the remote and connect it to the red wire. Put a wire nut on the wire from the remote.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-20, 09:07 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@stickshift...no capped black in the switch box. All the white wires were capped.

So I'm guessing (depending on the specific light/remote wires) there isn't a way to wire to the switch and the remote simultaneously?
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-20, 01:01 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,936
Received 336 Votes on 289 Posts
Are you asking if you can wire the light to be controlled by both the remote and the switch? I would not advise that option. Pick one or the other.
 
  #6  
Old 09-06-20, 06:25 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@joed...correct I was asking if it's possible to power the light from the switch but still be able to control the dimmer from the remote.
 
  #7  
Old 09-06-20, 06:41 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,195
Received 365 Votes on 316 Posts
Yes, and no. The remote will need to be installed in series with the wall switch. All of the remotes I have installed for fans will turn on the lights when the switch is turned on. Then you can use the remote to dim and control the fan.
 
  #8  
Old 09-06-20, 12:27 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,936
Received 336 Votes on 289 Posts
With the series setup, the remote will NOT work unless you have the switch on. That includes the fan.
 
  #9  
Old 09-08-20, 10:40 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks @Tolyn/Joed. Seems just like an extra step then with using the switch in a series.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: