outlet wiring to switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-20, 08:29 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outlet wiring to switch

I have a couple of rooms that don't have ceiling lights, I know that you can plug light fixtures in wall and turn them on with light switch. I have done that, but they will not turn on, could it be wired wrong in one or the other
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-20, 09:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Not totally clear.

You have wall switches with no ceiling lights.
Is there a blank cover in the center of the ceiling or nothing at all ?

Usually if there is a switched duplex..... one receptacle is always live and one is switched.
Have you checked every receptacle.... top and bottom ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-20, 12:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
If you had a half switched receptacle and someone changed it without cutting the tab on the hot side, the switch would no longer work.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-20, 07:44 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is nothing at all in the ceiling, just the switch on the wall and will not light up any lamps that i put in the rooms
 
  #5  
Old 09-19-20, 07:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
but they will not turn on
That's why I mentioned this post was not clear.

What you are saying is that some or part of a receptacle is not working if "they will not turn on".
Do you mean that all receptacles are live and nothing shuts off with the switch ?
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-20, 07:06 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the outlets are all live, I don't know if the switch on the wall is live, that is why I am asking if they are wired wrong and if I have to change them around to work.
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-20, 08:06 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
If you had a half switched receptacle and someone changed it without cutting the tab on the hot side, the switch would no longer work. All the receptacles would be live always.
 
  #8  
Old 09-20-20, 01:53 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,807
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Hi, did they ever work, did you replace anything?
Geo🇺🇸
 
  #9  
Old 09-20-20, 02:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
What you would need to do now is turn off the circuit that controls the receptacles. Pull them out one at a time without disconnecting any wires and see what wires are connected to the receptacles. You could describe each location or post a picture of it.
 
  #10  
Old 09-21-20, 03:42 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no, they never worked with the wall switch, that is how they were when we moved in. The outlet it self, works with a lamp plugged into it, and I have to turn it on and off on the lamps.
 
  #11  
Old 09-21-20, 05:59 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
Third try

If you had a half switched receptacle and someone changed it without cutting the tab on the hot side, the switch would no longer work. All the receptacles would be live always.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: