Fitting loose, how to replace?


  #1  
Old 09-29-20, 01:53 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fitting loose, how to replace?

Hi there
<img src="https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.doityourselft.com-vbulletin/2000x1504/5d0724a0_03e3_495d_be46_d385ee3b17e7_aff2559aba67bcf274a3013fe8fbdc35428fc482.jpeg" width="1128" height="1504"/>


this fitting is under our stairs and as you can see is hanging down. Almost like an upside down lamp.

Yesterday it got knocked and now the bulb doesnít sit it in correctly as there is a bit of plastic missing that is stopping the correct alignment now. Iíve removed the white cover which says itís T2 and found that itís this bit that has broken

Never replaced a fitting before.

Whatís the black fitting called so I can get a new one? Or do I need a new fitting including the white outer bits that the wires appear to be going into

looks like Iíll have some wiring to do for the first time too....so Iíll no doubt be posting about that soon
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-20, 04:40 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Don't recognize what you have there but I would just replace the whole thing with a new less than 5 fixture. A picture of the rest of fixture would help.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-20, 07:26 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,949
Received 716 Upvotes on 637 Posts
I agree with PUGSI, get a new fixture. Where are you located? Doesn't look like USA .
If it's typical 120v 15 amp light fixture then it will be easy.
Shut off power to that circuit. Remove fixture (you most like will need to remove staples to allow freer movement, don't nick the insulation). Black wire will attach to the gold or dark screw of the new fixture, white wire will connect to the silver or light colored screw. Remount and turn on power. Insert bulb.

<img src="https://images.homedepot-static.com/productImages/e970c468-12c8-41e1-afc9-3a586cfe1df3/svn/leviton-lamp-accessories-9874-1d_1000.jpg" width="1000" height="1000"/>
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-20, 09:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the UK.

You should put non-US in your user bio.

We don't use surface mount wiring like that in the States and I don't recognize that light fitting.
It's basically a surface mounted self contained fixture with no box.
You need to check with a local sparky or supply house.
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-20, 02:01 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks all!

sorry, yes UK not USA poster

will get in touch with a sparky today and get it sorted

regards
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: