Fan remote control wiring question


  #1  
Old 11-19-20, 12:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 424
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Fan remote control wiring question

HI everybody. I'm replacing the remotes on my fans soon, and the new fan connections have two wires for the lights, Up Light and Down Light. The fan looks like it has only one light wire. What do I do in this case?
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-20, 01:23 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,043
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
I would leave one light wire not connected and capped.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-20, 01:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 424
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Ok. Does it matter which one?
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-20, 02:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,108
Received 3,986 Upvotes on 3,578 Posts
I've never heard of two light wires. Can you post the model of the remotes.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-20, 03:51 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 424
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
  #6  
Old 11-20-20, 12:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 424
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
OK well answering my own question on this. That particular remote will handle two sets of lights. Sorry about all the confusion.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: