Combination switch trouble

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-20, 05:54 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Combination switch trouble

Now that I'm writing this and I drew out the configuration that I have I think I know the problem but I need to ask because not terribly sure. I am wiring 2 lights and am using one of these: Legrand: Combination Device, Duplex switch model 690. Now in theory I should be able to have a single power source in and then the separate switches control the separate lights. I have attached a very bad drawing of the configuration the circles are lights lightning bolt is the hot wire(s) dotted lines are e white wires and of course green is ground. Now it will allow me to power one light at a time but not both. Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated, just try not to laugh at me to much.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-20, 05:59 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
White wires do not attach to the switch. One side of the switch will have two screw that are connected via a tab between them. You connect the power to one of them. The other side has two separate screws where you connect the light hots.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-20, 06:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had that originally and nothing worked. The problem i run into is the power source for the one light comes FROM the light (old house wiring nothing makes sense). When i complete the circuit for the one light without a switch the light works, when i connect the circuit with the other light without a switch and the hot wire the second light works. The problem lies with the fact i need the switch and am being stubborn and wanting to use the switch I have instead of just using 2 separate switch's.
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-20, 06:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
I did not notice you only have two cables into that box.
Is the second light an new light? If it is then you can not do it. You do not have a neutral in the switch box. The first light is a switch loop. You have a hot wire from the light and a switch hot wire going back. The white is being used as a hot not a neutral.
The second light has to connect to the first light or you need to bring power to the switch box instead of the light.
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-20, 07:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
I'm not following.... was there one switch and one cable originally ?
If yes..... the second cable is your new cable ?
 
  #6  
Old 11-19-20, 11:42 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm sorry i should have clarified better. The light on the left with the hot wire is the original and the one on the right is the new light
 
  #7  
Old 11-19-20, 11:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
In this case.... joed is correct. There is no neutral for your new light.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-20, 01:18 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So basically im stuck getting two separate switch's one for each light and just run a jumper of the hot wire from one to the other?
 
  #9  
Old 11-20-20, 06:39 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
You can not add the second light. You do not have a neutral.
 
  #10  
Old 11-21-20, 02:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
and just run a jumper of the hot wire from one to the other?
One light to the other. Nothing can be done at the switch.
 
  #11  
Old 11-23-20, 01:42 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well that sucks. So ill have to find some way to run a new power source for the second light? If so I really hate this house lol.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: