light fixture wiring confusion


  #1  
Old 12-13-20, 10:06 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
light fixture wiring confusion

Changing a light I noticed this configuration of black and white from the romex to the switch coupled, together with black from light fixture. And ground from the switch coupled with the white neutral. I don't really understand what is going on here, usually I have seen black/black and white/white. Other romex goes to the fan and is not attached to anything.


 
  #2  
Old 12-13-20, 10:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
So are you saying you have a switch for lights and a switch for fan for that location ?

If yes..... that is incorrectly wired. There aren't enough wires going down to the switch for two switches. Currently they are using the ground as a neutral. Bad idea.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-20, 11:23 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, two switches. The unused romex you see in the picture goes from the light to the fan and deadends there. I have yet to trace the switch cables to their ends but looks like I will need to .
 

Last edited by chadw3; 12-14-20 at 11:24 AM. Reason: wording
  #4  
Old 12-14-20, 12:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
Best thing to do is to open the switch box, pull the switches out without disconnecting them and post a picture for us.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-20, 06:43 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

This is inside the switch. Also got up in the attic and traced the source to a junction box, and it was paired with old BX cable that had no ground.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-16-20 at 07:17 PM. Reason: resized/labeled pic
  #6  
Old 12-16-20, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
You've got some serious issues there.
The most glaring I circled in red. Using the white/neutral wire as a neutral and a ground.

With your current cabling...... you have enough wires there to bring power to that box and to operate one switched device. The bare ground wire cannot be used as a current carrying wire.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: