Hanging a chandelier


  #1  
Old 12-17-20, 10:33 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hanging a chandelier

Hello all.
First post here with a question, but hopefully will be able to contribute as well.
I'm an Electrical/Construction Engineer in the oil and gas industry. Since my layoff several months ago, I've been fortunate enough to put my hands on exp to use around my community. Putting up TV'S, recessed lighting soffit lighting...etc.

Lately i have been asked to install a chandelier in an 18ft ceiling. This wouldn't be an Issue generally except for one problem. The HVAC system sits directly over the fixture. The chandelier i plan on installing weighs around 50lbs and i'm pretty sure the box IS NOT rated for it.. my question is how to go about getting the box that is in place removed and an expandable box put in without drywall work. I've seen several done in my neighborhood after the fact and was told by the homeowner that they did not damage the drywall when they installed it. However they had no idea in regards to the details.

Is it a matter of just cutting the box out and leaving the old braces in place?

Ive attached 2 photos and you can see in the rough photo the base for the HVAC system so there is no way to access it from the top.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks



 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-17-20 at 11:03 AM. Reason: swapped fixture for box
  #2  
Old 12-17-20, 10:36 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
Define what you mean by "fixture"?
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-20, 10:46 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Whoops I ment the mounting box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-20, 11:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I corrected your mistake.
Can you reach that ceiling to work on it ?
That looks like a fairly substantial bar box...... as it should be ..... but not enough detail to risk hanging a fixture on.

If you can reach that high you can replace that box and bar with an expandable fan rated box.
It can be done thru the existing hole without opening it too much more.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-20, 02:19 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah I can reach it. I have a 3 tier roll around scaffold. I've changed a few light fixtures out in that spot in other houses, some do not have that box, they have the cheaper plastic box with the lighter metal bracing. The framework pic is from a random house being built in the neighborhood. I go through them to help understand the inner layouts, routing etc..

Thats how I know they are different from one house to another. So if I had yo replace that box with an expandable, how would i go about it?
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-20, 09:58 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,144
Received 427 Upvotes on 380 Posts
This is the box you'll need (or a similar brand)
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Commerci...0-OB/205383178

The old box gets unscrewed from the bar and the bar gets either cut with a sawzall or bent and pushed out of the way. The new bar goes in and using a wrench, the bar expands and its spikes go into the neighboring joists. Then the box gets screwed into the new bar. No drywall work required.
This one is rated to 70 lbs.

No idea why the original builders thought that would be a good place to save $8... but ah well.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-20, 03:36 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,428
Received 900 Upvotes on 761 Posts
So if I had yo replace that box with an expandable, how would i go about it?
Zorfdt has the correct box to use. As far as installing it, just check out youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6JJLLdyFH0
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-20, 07:07 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I actually use them quite a bit. A lot of people around here will install old work boxes for kitchen pendant lights. I won't. Seen an incident where someone slipped and grabbed for the closest object. ......Pulled it down and the other 2 into the attic.

I kind of thought it was a matter of cutting it out, but I wanted to be sure.



 
  #9  
Old 12-18-20, 08:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,710
Received 4,106 Upvotes on 3,687 Posts
Shell Rotella T6
 
  #10  
Old 12-19-20, 02:47 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm an ex Shell employee and my wife works there still. Get like 3 cases a year.
 
  #11  
Old 12-19-20, 04:29 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
how to go about getting the box that is in place removed and an expandable box put in
no idea in regards to the details.
I actually use them quite a bit
Hmm, maybe it's just my inquisitive mind, but it appears from the posts that you are asking about a product, how to install, them show you have a quantity, more than local ACE hardware, sitting on your shelf?

Interesting, very interesting!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: