Questing about Grounding Wire for Fixture Mounting Bracket


  #1  
Old 12-30-20, 11:43 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Questing about Grounding Wire for Fixture Mounting Bracket

I am replacing a bunch of light fixtures, and they all have a mounting bracket with a grounding screw. This is probably a dumb question, but can I use the grounding wire from the metal box, wrap that around the fixture ground screw, and then tie that to the main/incoming ground with a wire nut? Or, is it better to have three separate grounds (one from the main, one from the box, and a separate one on the fixture mount)?
 
  #2  
Old 12-30-20, 12:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
If you put that bar on a metal box that had no ground wire..... that screw would become your fixture ground location.

You can connect the incoming bare ground wire directly to the fixture ground wire.
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-20, 07:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJ, thanks. I guess what Iím asking is can I run a ground wire from the metal box ground screw, wrap that same wire around the ground screw on the mounting bracket, and then wire nut that together with the incoming 14/2 ground and the fixture ground. Is that the right way to do it?
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-20, 05:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
As long as all the grounds are connected together... there really is no right way.
What you are suggesting is ok.
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-20, 10:34 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJ, thank you. I really appreciate it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: