connecting wires for timer switch in bathroom


  #1  
Old 12-31-20, 09:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 350
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
connecting wires for timer switch in bathroom

I bought a Woods brand timer switch to replace the basic toggle switch supporting a bathroom ceiling fan. The timer switch has 4 wires (black, red, white, and green). When I removed the wall plate covering the two old switches, I see 5 white wires simply clustered together at the ends with a large wire nut. See attached photo.

In order to avoid removing that wire nut, could I just cut one of the white wires and connect it to the white wire on the new timer switch, leaving that large red wire nut in place?


Another question: when I removed the wall plate, the ground wire was held in place by the bottom screw holding the switch. To connect that copper ground wire to the ground wire of a timer switch, does the bare copper ground wire still need to be somehow in contact with the junction box?
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-20, 10:25 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
NO ALL the whites need to remain connected and your new timer white has to be added to the bundle. If the bundle gets too large then you can split it in half and join the two halves with a short jumper.

All the grounds must connected together and to the metal box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-20, 01:18 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 350
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Well, 5 white wires are connected together, making the bundle very stiff and not easy to work with. What is likely to happen if I remove the red wire connector connecting the five white wires? Might they fall apart? Should I try wrapping some electrical tape around them before removing the wire connector?
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-20, 03:31 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
Take them apart and add you new wire. Have a larger size nut available to use if you need it, They might fall apart. They might be twisted enough to stay together. You will just need to deal with when you take the nut off. If you don't think you can do that, then you will have call someone who can.
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-20, 03:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,090
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
That's an old switch with no ground screw. Composite box.... not metal. Either upgrade to a new switch or leave the ground behind the yoke. The other ground will connect to the green on your new switch.
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-20, 05:18 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
The switch that is still installed in the box should have the screws tightened down.
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-21, 04:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 350
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I finished installing the timer switch. I also replaced the old light switch - see left side of photo - with a dimmer switch. Getting both these new switching devices crammed into the box was challenging but they are installed and working.
 
  #8  
Old 01-01-21, 05:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,090
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
Good job.

Having five cables in a two gang box is pushing the limit especially with two large devices.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: