Installing Light Fixture - Unsure about terminal block that was included


  #1  
Old 01-23-21, 09:03 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Light Fixture - Unsure about terminal block that was included

I'm installing a new light fixture for over my table. It came with what I assume is some type of terminal block. I've never used one before, and I'm not sure I understand the purpose. Is this supposed to take the place of wire nuts? Can I just use wire nuts instead? It seems like pretty poor quality to me. I'm assuming the fixture wires go in one side and the hot, neutral, and ground wires from the ceiling go in the other side. I went back and confirmed that the fixture is in fact UL listed (at least that's what the Amazon listing says, I hope that it's accurate).






 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-23-21 at 09:12 PM. Reason: resized pics
  #2  
Old 01-23-21, 09:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
Many European fixtures come with terminal strips. Especially fixtures sold thru Ikea.
You don't have to use it. Three wire nuts are also acceptable.
 
cai24 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-23-21, 09:11 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, PJ. I have one more question if you don't mind. I have quite a bit of extra cord. Do I just leave the slack in the housing, or should I trim it down?
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-21, 09:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
Your choice. You can roll it up in the canopy or cut it shorter.
 
cai24 voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 01-23-21, 09:17 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 336
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks again. Much appreciated.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: