Adding an outlet


  #1  
Old 02-24-21, 04:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding an outlet

Looking to add an outlet in my kitchen. I would like to add it next to a switch that controls my ceiling fan and put them in a box together. It looks as though the power comes to the fan first though as there is only one set of wires to the switch, using white as a hot back to the light. What I'm wondering is if there is some way to wire the outlet with the current wiring I have.
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-21, 04:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,889
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Unfortunately if you only have a white and black wire on the switch..... you have a switch loop.
There is no neutral present to use for a receptacle.

 
  #3  
Old 02-24-21, 05:23 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,886
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Even if there was power available, you can't add the receptacle. Kitchen receptacles can't be on the same circuit as lighting. They must be on dedicated 20 amp circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-21, 07:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help! Kind of what I thought but good to have the confirmation!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: