Wireless Switch?


  #1  
Old 03-31-21, 04:46 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 70
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wireless Switch?

I'd like to widen the bathroom door on my main-floor bathroom from 24" to 30". Problem is that the only side of the wall that I can remove for the extra door space contains the two light switches for the bathroom. (See photos.) Bottom line is that I'd need to move the light switches to accommodate the wider door.

Is a wireless switch a good option for this? Some online reviews suggest that some of these switches are a bit flaky. Some of them require a battery, others not. I'm just hoping for some advice on whether a wireless switch is a good option, or whether I should just bite the bullet and do the traditional re-wiring job, which would likely require taking out some drywall. If a wireless switch is a good choice for this, any recommendations on brand or model?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Wayne

Current Location


Proposed Location


 
  #2  
Old 03-31-21, 04:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
I would move the switches to a new location.

Wireless switches take the place of the existing switch and then you have the wireless remote.
That won't be of much benefit to you unless you mount the switches in the attic.

What is on the other side of the proposed new switch location ?
Make sure it's not a chimney.
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-21, 05:08 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 70
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What is on the other side of the proposed new switch location ?
Other side is a pantry area
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-21, 05:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Ok.... I've seen a chimney in that location in many house.... mine included.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-21, 05:19 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 70
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Probably no way to do this without disturbing the drywall? (other than where the old switch is?)
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-21, 05:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Based on your picture of where the switches currently are.... it looks like the wiring either goes up or down. Possibly into an attic or basement.

If you're widening that doorway.... the wiring will be exposed anyway. You can see where it comes from and get a better idea what you'll need to do.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: