How to determine if power comes into switch or receptacle?


  #1  
Old 04-30-21, 11:14 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to determine if power comes into switch or receptacle?

  1. How do I determine if the power comes into the switch or into the receptacle?
  2. After I figure out where the power comes into the room, how do I keep the receptacle always hot and the switch to control my recessed lights? I assume this is dependent on #1.

I can post pics if needed.
 
  #2  
Old 04-30-21, 02:41 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,912
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Open the switch.
How many wires?
1. Is it only black and white both on switch? If yes, power is at receptacle.
2. Is it more than two and no whites are connected to the switch? If yes, then power is at the switch.
Rewiring depends on where you intend to feed the new lights from. You can feed from either the switch or the receptacle in option one.
Option two you probably need to go to the switch if you want the receptacle always on.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-21, 05:30 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, one white and one black at the switch. See pics. The white appears to be hot when the switch is off.

So, now that I know the power is to the receptacle, I want the receptacle always hot and then the swtich to control the recessed lights that I will install. Whichever way is easiest to run wire straight up, from either the switch or receptacle to power the lights and connected to the switch.

thoughts?





 
  #4  
Old 05-01-21, 05:12 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,912
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
two options.
new cable to receptacle.
open receptacle.
You will find a white connected to one or more blacks. This is the hot bundle.
You will find the black from the cable with the hot white connected to the receptacle. Remove it from the receptacle.
Get a short black wire and connect from the hot bundle to the receptacle.
The new cable will connect to the other whites and the black you removed from the receptacle.

new cable to light switch.
open receptacle and remove white from the black connection.
Connect all black together and to receptacle.
Connect all whites together and to receptacle.

At switch remove white and connect to new white.
Leave black on switch and connect new black to screw where you removed the white.

In all places connect all ground together.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-21, 02:41 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much! That worked perfectly. I wired it from the switch.



 
  #6  
Old 05-03-21, 07:25 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I want to do the same in my other bedroom. Switch currently controls an outlet. However, when I checked the switch….there is a bunch of wires this time, not just 2.

Is it possible to wire the recessed lights to the switch box and have the outlet always on? (Like I did in the other room above thanks to Joed)





 
  #7  
Old 05-03-21, 09:10 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,912
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Is that a red wire connected to the switch? If it is then that is the switched wire. Connect it to the blacks and the receptacle will be hot.
If there is enough room to add more wires into the box, then connect your new cable like this.
Connect the new white to the other whites.
Connect new black to the place where you removed the red wire.
Leave the other switch connection as is.
 
  #8  
Old 05-03-21, 09:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,192
Received 1,529 Votes on 1,412 Posts
Is it possible to wire the recessed lights to the switch box and have the outlet always on?
It should be.

Just pull the wiring slightly out of the box so we can see the connections better.
Your biggest problem is that box is fairly full. You'll be adding another cable.
Staying with a switch is probably ok. Not going to be room for a dimmer there.
 
  #9  
Old 05-03-21, 01:50 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here’s a better picture.

I will replace the box with a larger one as I am definitely going to need a dimmer as one light is positioned above my bed.



 
  #10  
Old 05-03-21, 03:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,192
Received 1,529 Votes on 1,412 Posts
Connect the two black wires and the red wire. That will be always live. Remove that blue scotchlok and add a short tail of wire to go to the dimmer as hot. You new two wire cable will connect to the other switch/dimmer terminal and the white splice.
 
  #11  
Old 05-03-21, 03:06 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great, thank you both!

I wired nutted the two black with the red, and capped off the white for now. The outlet works as expected.

Once I add the new wire and get a switch, I’ll add it as both you mentioned and it should be good to go.

thank you both again. Definitely appreciate it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: