Multiple lights and outlet on one switch


  #1  
Old 05-15-21, 01:15 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Multiple lights and outlet on one switch

am installing multiple lamp holders for my garden bed to use par 38 flood light bulbs. I purchased all weatherproof materials that is rated for outdoors ( dug trench, purchased uf 12/3)

The power source is coming from the garage right to the lights, then after the last light will be the switch inside the bar. What would be the correct way to connect all of these lights to the one switch? Also want to put an outlet and another light inside bar. Ive attached a diagram for better understanding


 
  #2  
Old 05-15-21, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Since you are using three wire everywhere.....
the black will be always live and just carried thru every light.
Each light will connect to the white neutral wire.
Each light will connect to the red wire which will be the switched hot.
At the switch end.... the switch goes from black to red.
Since you have always live power at the switch you can connect your receptacles to the black and white wires.
All ground wires are interconnected.
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-21, 04:33 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for that information.
Would I have to utilize a pig tail at all for the lights?
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-21, 02:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
You will have a red and white splice to connect the light to in every box. If the light socket wires are too short to reach the splices then you'll need pigtails from the sockets.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-21, 05:33 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
And if I wanted to add two switches to control the lights? As in one before the lights and one after
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-21, 10:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
You can put in as many switches as you want and in any location BUT if any switch is on the lights will be on.

If you want two switches to completely control the lights from either location then you'd need a three way circuit. Your wiring does not allow for three way wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-21, 07:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Which wiring would I have to use in that case?
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-21, 04:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,893
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
You would need a 12-3 cable between switches.

Have you considered other lighting choices besides PAR38?
 
  #9  
Old 05-20-21, 04:19 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Considered solar lights but the area in the backyard is very shady .
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-21, 10:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
Solar lights are good in very remote areas but they aren't terribly bright or long lasting.

I would have opted for low voltage lighting in your case.
The wiring is much easier. No need to bury 18+ inches deep.
 
  #11  
Old 05-21-21, 07:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
At this point the trench is already dug so Im committed 😃
 
  #12  
Old 06-25-21, 06:44 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not bad for my first electrical project


 
  #13  
Old 06-25-21, 06:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
Good job. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: