Installing a Decora double-pole...different than old switch


  #1  
Old 05-16-21, 10:15 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 540
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
Installing a Decora double-pole...different than old switch

I might be over-thinking it, but I don't like to mess around with electrical if I am not sure.
I am replacing two old toggle light switches with Decora switches. The single pole was straightforward.
The double-pole just looks a bit different - the screws are placed differently, and everything I read says white wire to silver screw - and there is no silver screw, either on the old one or the new one.

Can someone tell me which wire goes where, on the new switch?


New switch - note the brass screws are in different places that the old one...does that matter?

Old switch, red and white are both connected to brass screws.
(No ground wires are hooked up in these light boxes - I have found that to be the case in many (if not most) of the switches that I have replaced over the years. I have left them as is and have had an electrician tell me that was fine.)
 
  #2  
Old 05-16-21, 10:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,638
Received 1,610 Votes on 1,482 Posts
On a three way switch..... the only important terminal is the black/dark one. Makes no difference where it's located. The wire that was on the dark screw is the common wire and must remain on the common terminal. The other two wires can go on either way..... no polarity.

 
  #3  
Old 05-16-21, 10:35 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 540
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
Great. Thank you very much.
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-21, 11:08 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,268
Received 117 Votes on 101 Posts
Is the picture of the old switch the way that you found it? If those are push-in terminals (as opposed to clamp down) they should not be used. And there is far too much bare wire exposed. Either they are stripped longer than the strip guide or they are not pushed in all the way. The insulation should be tight against the device. If you have other switches and receptacles that are wired like that you should rewire them correctly and safely using the terminal screws.
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 05-16-21, 11:54 AM
yardnut's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 540
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
The picture is of the current installation. Certainly exactly as I found it. Yes I did trim the wires - already had that done and cover is on. All good.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: