Adding recessed lights to ceiling fan/light remote


  #1  
Old 05-16-21, 10:18 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding recessed lights to ceiling fan/light remote

I have a ceiling fan/light controlled with a remote. The light can be dimmed using the remote. There’s a switch on the wall that we leave on all the time. If I want to add recessed lights that are controlled by the remote, can I wire them to the ceiling fan remote receiver at the fan box? I’d rather not have a separate dimmer switch on the wall. Any issues with adding 4 recessed led lights? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-16-21, 10:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,604
Received 1,602 Votes on 1,476 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You cannot add additional lights to be controlled by the fan's remote control.
Those dimmers are very light duty and most of them will not operate LED bulbs.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-21, 11:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What about replacing the existing remote and wall switch with the Lutron Caseta switch? Would that work?
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-21, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,604
Received 1,602 Votes on 1,476 Posts
That would render the fan remote useless as it won't work connected to an electronic dimmer.

You should pull the switch out (leave it connected) and see what you have wiring there.
That would give us a clue as to what you have at the fan box.
 
  #5  
Old 05-16-21, 11:29 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
At the switch I have 3 black wires connected to the switch (2 on bottom, 1 on top) and 3 white wires wire nutted together. The ceiling fan does not have pull chains so it relies on the remote.

Is the best option to just connect the recessed lights to a new switch and leave the fan/light on the remote?
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-21, 02:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,604
Received 1,602 Votes on 1,476 Posts
Ok... that tells me that.....
1) power comes in on one cable.
2) goes out on a second cable
3) is switched to the third cable. (to fan)

That means no always live at the fan end.

Yes.... it would be best to connect your lights to a new switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: