Rewiring switched outlet to ceiling light

Old 05-26-21, 11:32 AM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Rewiring switched outlet to ceiling light

Hi all,
I need to rewire a switched outlet (located at the normal height on the wall behind hutch in my photo). The three-way switches are located on the walls at the very left and right edge of the photo. I'll be installing a new box and chandelier in the middle of this room that will be switched. Looking for advice in particular on how best to run the cable and minimize the number of drywall holes I need to patch. There's no access from above. The ceiling joists run perpendicular to the stairs, so from the wall opening away, if that makes sense. I've got a cold air return vent there as well. Not sure how that might figure into things.

Also, I want to make the existing outlet always hot. If somebody can point me to how to change the wiring, that would also be helpful. I have some electrical experience and several books, so not too worried about that. More worried about how to attack running the cable and minimizing drywall cuts.
Appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Last edited by PJmax; 05-26-21 at 11:55 AM. Reason: labeled pic
Old 05-26-21, 12:02 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Took the liberty of labeling your picture for discussion.
Two 3w switches.... A and B control a receptacle behind that hutch.
The easiest part of the job is making the receptacle always live.

Looking at the locations of the boxes in that room.... common sense would dictate the feed comes into B. The load/receptacle is connected at A. However... there are many ways of wiring it. I don't know exactly where your new light will be but based on the switch locations it is certainly closer to B. The joists allow for an easier path to switch B. That would make the circuit backwards for this application.