Ceiling Fan Doesn't Spin on High


  #1  
Old 06-05-21, 12:24 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Ceiling Fan Doesn't Spin on High

This happened years ago but I never got around to it, have been using a separate stand fan in addition during the summer. The fan is remote controlled, and after some guy worked on it (can't remember what he did) it no longer runs on the highest of the three speed settings. If I hit high on the remote, it just turns off. How can I possibly fix this without having to get a new fan?
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-21, 01:55 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,513
Received 962 Votes on 883 Posts
Since we don't know what fan you have it's hard to offer specifics. What was "da guy" doing when he worked on the fan? It might be as simple as a disconnected or broken wire.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-21, 02:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,547
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Pretty hard to repair something that you don't know how it's wired.
The receiver has a relay for each speed. It also uses several capacitors switched into the circuit.
It would take an experienced tech to diagnose it without a wiring diagram.

Possibly with a make and model we could help further.
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-21, 05:59 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a Harbor Breeze, model unknown.

Pictures :




As stated, I don't remember what he did. I put the fan up myself many years ago, and already double checked the wiring, everything is connected as it should be.
 

Last edited by DIYGuy21; 06-05-21 at 06:15 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-07-21, 08:09 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 115
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Is it possible that the pull chain speed selector needs to be set on another speed? It's been a while since I've installed a fan, but I seem to remember needing to set the fan to its highest speed with the pull chain first, then the remote worked as expected.
 
  #6  
Old 06-07-21, 11:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,547
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Usually when there is only one pull chain it's for the light. That means the fan would be using the integral remote receiver that contains the capacitors used for speed control. There is no set standard. There are many combinations of control.

This is the remote receiver with internal speed control parts.


Unless this fan had sentimental value.... I'd replace it.
 
  #7  
Old 06-08-21, 09:04 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The pull chain was the first thing I tried Dan. There is a chain for the fan itself PJmax, it just broke off so you have to reach into the bowl to pull it. I'm just trying to save some money and keep this mostly working fan out a land fill.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: