Above cabinet lights


  #1  
Old 07-15-21, 11:47 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Above cabinet lights

I currently have old light fixtures above the kitchen cabinet connected to light switch?

I want to switch to led , maybe color changing - puck lighting but keep connected to wall switch? Is this possible? If yes, is it easy to do? Or do I need to hire someone.

Any recs on the lights? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-21, 12:15 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
  #3  
Old 07-16-21, 06:01 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,478
Received 2,106 Upvotes on 1,885 Posts
It sounds like you have AC power already run up to the cabinets so that makes it very easy to switch to LED's. The next thing to determine is if your current lights are hard wired or plug into an outlet.
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-21, 07:22 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hardwired. I don't see any plugs
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-21, 11:03 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
rope led is an interesting idea...again trying to understand if it can be connected to my current setup (hardwired to wall switch). I have cabinets going around three walls in the kitchen so skip areas but the current fixtures are all hardwired to single switch so if I can connect the rope led to the existing wiring then it would be great
 
  #6  
Old 07-17-21, 12:12 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
Yes, absolutely, you have exactly what I installed. all you need is the LED kits.

I would use the light strips, much easier to install!


 
  #7  
Old 07-17-21, 04:33 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,478
Received 2,106 Upvotes on 1,885 Posts
One thing you could do is install an outlet on the end of your existing wire. Get a old work electrical box and an outlet and you can install the outlet in the wall. Then any above cabinet lights you buy could just plug in. Since the outlet is still controlled by the switch the lights will go on'/off with the switch.
 
  #8  
Old 07-17-21, 09:33 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
any recs on led light kits? There seems to be a lot of them and very confusing..

Some say not to use with wall outlet or some have issues with the default light setting when you turn on the switch.

anything in particular I should be searching for?

will keep looking...thanks
 
  #9  
Old 07-17-21, 12:19 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Will this work?

WiFi Smart LED Strip Lights with Remote, 32.8ft RGB Color Changing, SMD 5050 LED Rope Light, Under Cabinet Strip Lighting, 12V Tape Light for Kitchen, Bedroom https://www.amazon.com/dp/B086TXC7YG...5KN2NVW0K81XQS
 
  #10  
Old 07-17-21, 03:31 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,478
Received 2,106 Upvotes on 1,885 Posts
Do you want wifi controlled, color changing lighting? If not I go with simple white lights that you turn on/off with your current wall switches.
 
  #11  
Old 07-17-21, 03:56 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I want the default to be simple warm white but like the option of changing colors occasionally as needed for mood lighting ...that's why I picked this but not sure if this can be hardwired to the wall outlet

Thanks
 
  #12  
Old 07-17-21, 04:10 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,269
Received 860 Upvotes on 723 Posts
I have done many projects using LED strip lights and have had very good results. In fact, I am doing another kitchen tomorrow.

I have used many strips you find on amazon and they are hit or miss as far as brightness or color. (Kelvin) I have had good results with Hitlights and SuperbrightLEDs. Other places I can recommend is https://www.inspiredled.com/ and https://www.aspectled.com/ They are more expensive but their much better qualtity IMO.
 
  #13  
Old 08-15-21, 04:47 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok I think I am giving up on the color changing option and sticking to just warm white color.

I have 4 skip areas so will need 4 transformers ...I called the inspire led folks and that's what they said. I still don't quite understand bc I thought I would need to transform the current only once as it comes out from the switch.
 
  #14  
Old 08-15-21, 11:02 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
You need a transformer for each section, if there are no separations then one will work up to it's max capacity!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: