Switch to nowhere


  #1  
Old 08-06-21, 12:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Switch to nowhere

I have a two switch panel and one switch goes nowhere. The other switch turns on two lights. I'd like to make one switch go to each light Independently. That's not an issue. But the dead switch has wires connected. A red (that gets no power), a white, and a ground. From the same main wire, though, is a capped black wire (hot). I tested them all.

Is this safe? I have no idea what else the cable is connected to.... nothing? Can I safely disconnect and cap the red and white and use the switch?

Thanks, Jeffrey
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-06-21 at 07:04 PM. Reason: cropped/labeled pic
  #2  
Old 08-06-21, 03:42 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
Should not be a problem to cap the two wires.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-21, 07:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I took the liberty of clarifying your picture.
We see three cables.

Cable A is power in to left switch. Cable B is switched power out from the left switch.
(could be reversed. can't tell from picture)

Cable C is a three wire cable. You said black is hot. The switch does nothing. Sure you could take the red and white wires off the switch and cap them off like the black wire.... but what then ?

Since you have only one cable out to the lights (A or B)..... the lights are combined at the first light. You'd need to get a wire from that light to the switch box in order to use both switches. That is not as easy as it appears.
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-21, 08:55 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pjmax

I assumed cable A went to one light and cable B to the other. Is that a poor assumption?

Also, you say what then about capping the red and white. But if But have no power and the switch effects nothing, is there any reason to have them attached to a switch? That's a legitimate question, btw. There may be a reason but I don't know enough to know what that could be.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-21, 08:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Yes.... sorry.
Based on the left switch wiring.... one cable is the power and the other goes to the light(s).
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-21, 09:43 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yep. That makes all the sense. Not really sure what I was thinking but feel a bit dumb now. So it goes. And thanks again for the help.
 
  #7  
Old 08-07-21, 11:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Don't feel dumb. You asked first. If you did the work.... then you'd have a reason to feel dumb.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: