Wiring for replacement driveway flood light


  #1  
Old 09-04-21, 06:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 249
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Wiring for replacement driveway flood light

Hello,

I'm replacing my outside driveway flood light (the kind that turns on with a motion sensor). What I'm a little confused about is how the metal electrical box is mounted in the multiple layers of the house. There's the wood of the house, then green styrofoam-like material, and then the outside vinyl siding. The electrical box is mounted in the wood...so there's about an inch gap between the electrical box and the vinyl siding. Is this OK as long as the electrical connections are pushed back so they're inside the box? There will still be a gap between the box and the back of the new light fixture.

Below is a crude drawing of the wiring, as well as the "layering" of the house, and a few pics.

Thanks!


This is to show the gap between the electrical box, the green styrofoam-like material, and the vinyl siding.


This is the old light on the white plastic mount.


This is a view from inside the garage to show the electrical box mounted to the wood.

 
  #2  
Old 09-05-21, 01:46 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, I would remove the existing box , install a J box on the stud at the existing location and run a short piece on NM B through the wall and use a vinyl block like this, if the cables are long enough, no need for the J box.
https://www.google.com/search?q=viny...LAstOSq6neS3bM
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-21, 04:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 249
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks for the reply! Im a little confused :-)

Can you link me to what a J box looks like? I looked it up and it looks similar to whats already installed in the wood. Im wondering if Im not finding the right thing.
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-21, 06:02 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, that is one, Search junction boxes, a 4 sq. Would work, there many to choose from
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-21, 06:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 249
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Got it, thanks. Whats the difference between the j-box that youre recommending, and the one that I already have installed in the wood pictured below?
 
  #6  
Old 09-06-21, 04:37 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, the difference is really the way the box mounts, you will probably have to cut that box out as it has ears that attach it to the sheathing, mount a box like this on the stud , pull those 2 cables back and install them into the new box along with a short piece of NM B out through the hole and install a vinyl siding block to mount your new fixture.
https://www.google.com/shopping/prod...:1,prmr:1,cs:1
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #7  
Old 09-06-21, 05:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,066
Received 3,421 Upvotes on 3,067 Posts
When you use one of those plastic trim blocks...... the electrical box either needs to pass thru the block or needs to be mounted just behind the block. You have a 4" round box cut into the sheathing. It is not behind that new block. It needs to be moved or replaced.

You could just abandon it where it is. Ideally pulling the two cables out of that round box and moving them to a new box is what you want to do. However those wires may be too short. If they are too short.... move them to a new junction box. A utility box or a 4" square box would be fine. Then run a single wire to a new cut-in gem box that you will install in the block. Could use a cut in gem or cut in 4" round. Use shallow box.

 
  #8  
Old 09-06-21, 06:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 249
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks PJmax! For the cut-in gem (or cut-in round) box that you said to install in the block, whats the best way to mount the box since the block is somewhat thin? Maybe use nuts and bolts instead of screws? I like the idea of putting that cut-in 4 round box behind the block because then I can use that to install the lights hardware and the light itself.
 
  #9  
Old 09-07-21, 10:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,066
Received 3,421 Upvotes on 3,067 Posts
Sometimes you can screw thru the box, thru the block and into wood.
Sometimes the hole is too large behind the block and long screws won't work.

Small nuts and bolts are rivets could be used.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: