Help installing wireless 3 gang light switch


  #1  
Old 09-17-21, 07:56 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Help installing wireless 3 gang light switch

Hi everyone, I'm trying to convert my standard 3-gang light switch into a wireless one. However, I'm a bit confused about how the wiring should be connected to the new switch.

In the attached photo, I believe there are 3 wires (#2,3,4) which are connected each of the 3 lights. I think wire #1 is the mains power, but I'm not sure what the 2 red loop wires are (Active or Neutral?)

For the connection, I've tried connecting:
#1 to A
#2 to A1
#3 to A2
#4 to A3

However, this doesn't seem to work and I'm not sure how to connect the neutral (N) terminal...

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks


 
  #2  
Old 09-17-21, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
Welcome to the forums from Australia.

This is primarily a North American based site. Our wiring is different than yours.
I'd recommend finding some local help there for you wiring issue.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-21, 05:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
I stopped back to look over this thread. I labeled where your four wires go.
1-3 are the switched hots out to your lights.
4 is the always live hot in.
You do not have neutral in that picture. That's what you need.

 
  #4  
Old 09-18-21, 05:09 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks @pjmax! You guys have been very helpful!

I'm a bit confused about the lack of a neutral wire in the existing switch, how can it work without a neutral wire? Do i need to tap into another neutral nearby?
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-21, 09:19 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Problem solved! I managed to tap into a neutral wire in the socket next to the switch and voila!

 
  #6  
Old 09-18-21, 09:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
The switches themselves don't require a neutral to turn the light on and off.
Your wireless control is what needed the neutral to operate the wireless receiver.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: