Correct wire connect


  #1  
Old 09-17-21, 08:26 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Post Correct wire connect

On my patio the builder put 3 lights control by a switch in the bedroom and one in living room. There are 2 black and 2 white wires in each box from the ceiling. I have a ceiling fan in the center with pull chains and it works great. Now I want to install 2 ceiling fans with remotes on each end of patio. I tried one, wired black to the 2 black and white to the 2 whites, tried the remote nothing. Checked panel , breaker kicked off. Reset , the center fan works but nothing on the remoted fan. Should I only attach the black and white from the fan to one wire only from box.?? Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 09-17-21, 10:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,451
Received 4,051 Upvotes on 3,634 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You have three lights on your patio controlled by a pair of switches. The pair of switches is called a three way circuit. Either switch turns ALL the lights on or off. That means all the lights will do the same thing. If you install three fans then all three fans will do the same thing.

If you are intending to install three fan/light combos with remotes then the circuit should be left always live. There is no way to change the function of one location.

I tried one, wired black to the 2 black and white to the 2 whites, tried the remote nothing.
The switch must be turned on so that all locations are on or live. At two locations you will have two white and two black wires. They must remain together. At the third location there will be only one white and one black wire.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-21, 05:00 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank You I now have all fans connected and working. First fan, problem the battery for the remote was dead on arrival. I opened the second fan, took the battery from that, inserted in the remote and all things worked fine. I knew my wiring was fine, and did not think about the remote at all.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: