Splitting 4 lights into 2 switches


  #1  
Old 09-28-21, 07:14 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Splitting 4 lights into 2 switches

Currently have 1 switch that controls 4 lights (2 recessed lights on our front porch and 2 lights next to the garage). I want to put the 2 garage lights on their own switch. How do I do this?
 
  #2  
Old 09-28-21, 07:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You'll need to figure out how the circuit is run.
Normally and if I ran it..... it would go from the switch to one recessed light to second recessed light and then to the two garage lights.

Do you have access to above the recessed lights ?
If yes.... you can see what you have for wiring there.

It's possible that both sets of lights are run directly to the switches but that would be a real longshot.

At this time..... it may be easier to connect the two garage lights to power in the garage and use a wireless switch at the front door.
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-21, 11:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes it does go from switch to recessed to garage lights. I canít see above the recessed but in the garage I can see a wire going to the first garage light from the area where the recessed lights are
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-21, 08:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,569
Received 3,877 Upvotes on 3,475 Posts
You would need to cut that line.... put both ends in a splice box and extend the garage light down to the switch location.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: