Improve garage lighting


  #1  
Old 10-03-21, 01:11 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 448
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Improve garage lighting

My garage lighting is poor, just the standard lighting, that is when I turn on garage light and also when the garage door opens. I would like to improve these two situations. I have two LED fluorescent lighting that I would like to install in the garage. They are the plug in type, each with two tubes. I would like to tie them to garage door opener and also be able to turn them on if I need to be working in the garage. Is that possible/how?
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-21, 01:17 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,211 Upvotes on 1,099 Posts
In my garage I have 4 dual 8' double row LED's and 4 4' double row. About blinds you if your not carful.

Easiest application would be to have different circuits.

With the door opening you don't need all the lighting like when your working out there,

My Chamberlin openers had an optional wireless controller that would be easy to set up, open the door the wireless connector turns on the lights.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 10-03-21, 08:13 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 448
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Yes I could just add a double bulb holder to GDO, that should brighten the garage when the g.door is operated. Then just install the LED tubes as switched lighting and call it a day.
However, before I do that you said...
Easiest application would be to have different circuits.
How?
And secondly

​​​​​​​My Chamberlin openers had an optional wireless controller that would be easy to set up, open the door the wireless connector turns on the lights.
That wireless setup sounds interesting. How can one set up something similar or closely related, even if they have to use small 433mhz relays, a timed delay relay, or I do have a low voltage sonoff that I have tested to open the garage door. My GDO is chamberlain D2101C
 
  #4  
Old 11-13-21, 10:37 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 448
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Can you use a stranded 14g wire, as a short 3 or 4ft extension, of, and connected to a solid 14ga wire (or 12ga, whatever is commonly used in residential) in the attic above the garage, so that you can hard wire LED fluorescent tubes lighting?
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-21, 02:49 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,816
Received 875 Upvotes on 766 Posts
The electrical cable should be sized according to the circuit breaker size it's protected by. #14 needs to be on a 15amp circuit and can't be used on a 20 amp circuit. #12 is for 20amp circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-21, 06:31 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Received 21 Upvotes on 19 Posts
It's LEDs or it's fluorescents & fluorescents will not last long if you keep restarting them.
For a 10' x 20' garage, lamps totaling 6000 lumens giving 72 lux [7 footcandles] of illuminance should be plenty.
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-21, 01:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 448
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
I should add some more info. It's these 4FT LED Shop Light (42W) by Feit Electric, see here or here. They have a cord to plug into wall socket. You can plug the second one into the first one, I have two. I was thinking of swapping out the current garage light bulb and hard wire them into that position. Use is when I am in the garage, so pretty normal usage. (Won't connect them to the garage door opener since we use GD as our entry way.) Does that change anything or should the current breaker for the garage light be sufficient?



​​​​​​​



 
  #8  
Old 11-14-21, 03:26 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Received 21 Upvotes on 19 Posts
@42w, you could put 40 of these up & barely trip a 15A breaker.
I leave mine plugged in with cords that I've lengthened & use little plug-in cube switches to turn them on.

9000 lumens for a 10' x 20' space should give you lighting like in a restaurant.
 

Last edited by bulova; 11-14-21 at 04:05 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: