Led strip lights that can be controlled by wall switch?


  #1  
Old 11-13-21, 07:49 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Led strip lights that can be controlled by wall switch?

I'm planning to run some led under cabinet lights in my kitchen. However, all the sets I find on Amazon all come with remotes and can only be turned on with the switch or remote that comes with the set. I'd to control them with a powered outlet or switch. But none of them seem to work like that. From the reviews, it looks like if you hook them up like that, all that does is supply them power, not actually turn the lights on. You still have to turn them on with the supplied switch or remote.

Does anyone know of a set that I could power on with a regular switch or powered outlet? Or a way to modify the others to do that? I'd 0refer the strip lights, not the ones in the plastic housings, as they are too bulky for my liking. Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 11-13-21, 07:59 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,050
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
  #3  
Old 11-13-21, 08:16 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks! I totally didn't realize I just needed to find one with a physical switch.
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-21, 12:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
There are many choices of under cabinet lighting strips. You can buy a bulk reel of LED tape and one or several plug in drivers. A driver is a power supply that converts 120v to typically 12vdc. The drivers can be plugged into a switched receptacle.
 
I Mullins voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 11-14-21, 12:58 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
The kits with remotes work with the wall switch, here was my post regarding a kitchen re-fit!

Above kitchen cabinet lighting
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-21, 07:00 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yeah I know I could skip the controllers that come with the strips and get a driver that would be able to be controlled by a switch. Thing is with the massive overhaul we're already doing in our kitchen, I was kind of going for simplicity. I have done led strips in my basement, and ended up having to solder the strips to the extensions because the "clip-on" connectors were worthless, and wouldn't hold a connection at all. If there is a good product out there that let's me splice and extend the strips to the different cabinets without soldering, then I'm all ears. I just haven't found it yet. So the pre-fabbed kits made for under cabinet lighting seemed the simpler option. I am still a ways away from doing this (I am painting the cabinets and want to get that done first), so I have some time to look around.
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-21, 07:37 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
This was the kit I used, 32' long, one power supplier, one remote, everything is assembled, no connections, just trim to length. About as simple as can be.

Once the color brightness is selected it stays, just throw the wall switch to turn them on.

Yes, you too can have green, or any color accent lights!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-21, 08:03 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
That's good to know, thanks. I actually have a govee set down in my basement, but hadn't tried it with a physical switch, we just use Alexa for it. I had read some reviews that said when you power them off, the back on again, that you have to use the button on the controller to actually turn them on. But thanks that's good to know.
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-21, 08:33 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
No, they get set and forget. Also we had two separate sets due to cabinet layout, the one remote works both!
 
  #10  
Old 11-14-21, 08:35 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yeah I saw your post, that was probably the best way to handle your situation. I do have a pantry separating my two sets of cabinets, but I think I can easily run a low voltage extension through my wall into the pantry, behind the door frame and into the other cupboard. It is nice that you can control them with one remote, but I really would like to have them both on one wall switch I think. Dunno still in planning lol.
 
  #11  
Old 11-14-21, 08:54 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Received 21 Upvotes on 19 Posts
Go for a wall switch with no middlemen, or "middle entities" like Alexa. A wall switch really is "set & forget".

For a low price you can get a complex system that you cannot possibly troubleshoot.
 
  #12  
Old 11-14-21, 09:41 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 338
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yep that's why I want to go with hardwired to a wall switch. I don't like the system in my basement. I want a simpler system for this.
 
  #13  
Old 11-15-21, 05:43 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,382
Received 892 Upvotes on 753 Posts
You can have a wall switch but you will still need to install a switched receptacle off that wall switch to power the power supply for the LED strip lights. I typically install the power supply/switched receptacle in a cabinet base or in the basement under the kitchen.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: