Non-Metallic PVC Raceway-Code Compliant?


  #1  
Old 12-26-21, 10:37 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Non-Metallic PVC Raceway-Code Compliant?

Previous owner had ceiling light fan combo powered from a receptacle. There's a normal, light switch by the door. So I expected when I pulled down the fan to find a hole and a lead, but there was nothing. Ceiling looked new. Well!
The issue is the ceiling is vaulted type, no attic access. The only way I see this working out is to put such as a Raceway non-metallic PVC surface mounted on the wall, from the light switch, up the wall to the ceiling, along the ceiling to a position of choice. Is this code compliant to pass city inspection?

or how else can a solution be accomplished here?

Location Balch Springs, Dallas County Texas.

Wiremold Non-Metallic PVC Raceway 5 ft. Wire Channel, White
 

Last edited by bambata; 12-26-21 at 11:08 PM.
  #2  
Old 12-27-21, 05:52 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,350
Received 882 Upvotes on 745 Posts
Yes. A surface-mounted raceway is a code-compliant method to get wires to the fan location. You will need to install a surface-mounted box that is rated to support a fan. Likely this may require the use of a metallic surface raceway.
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-21, 05:53 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,046
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
That will work.

How is the fan powered now?
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-21, 06:24 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Fan is removed at the moment.
Since there's a regular switch, 1 gang type on the wall by the door, do I have to use the box below? Because I think the raceway is not gonna be code appropriate where it butts the regular faceplate.


 
  #5  
Old 01-11-22, 10:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Can you screw a ceiling fan straight into the joists using 2, 3inch long screws for a tight secure fit? It's a vaulted ceiling, with no attic access. It's also not flat from left to right. I used a stud finder and this is the located joist spot-where fan "cup" is located.



 
  #6  
Old 02-23-22, 08:23 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Is this a fire risk?

Eventually I got pancake style steel fan box. Everything was upto code and passed.

IS this a fire risk?
But I have a serious question. I re-used the same wire that previous owner had powering each of the two fans, one in each BR. I hard-wired the wires into the raceway switch and conduit into the fans/lights. This wire is the stranded type, each with a plug on one end, used to be plugged into a receptacles to power the fans/lights. They are marked 18 AWG 300V 105 degrees.
Question - 1
There's a chance the breaker that powers these two BR is 20amp. In that case is this wire gauge size a problem, pro'ly a fire risk?

Question - 2
If the breaker is a regular 15amp same question or is this wire ok? If not can I use a THHN 14GA stranded wire or what should be the proper wire type/GA?
(I won't be at the location until sometime this weekend to verify breaker amps. However, if I can get some info I can plan ahead)

So far the fans/lights have been working ok, no breakers tripped, nothing. But I saw a video that got me concerned about wire sizing to breaker amps.

Here is the remaining piece of the wire I re-installed





 

Last edited by bambata; 02-23-22 at 08:43 PM.
  #7  
Old 02-23-22, 10:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,136
Received 3,996 Upvotes on 3,586 Posts
That is zip cord or extension cord wiring. That is not approved for use in a raceway and is definitely not heavy enough for that use. You need to use the same size wiring in the raceway that the circuit is fused at. Some raceway systems uses individual conductors and some use Nm-b (romex) cable.
 
  #8  
Old 02-28-22, 09:29 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
In the attic I found enough length of 12 or 14ga Romex remnant. It's the type with a paper sheathing on the inside around the ground wire??? with a black & white wires. It's the same one used in the house, visible in the attic, inside receptacles, etc . I can update a pic later but this should be aok?
 
  #9  
Old 03-01-22, 07:14 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Here is a pic of the romex remainder I found in the attic. I a must trying to make sure I follow safety and code here with your help. Again it's the same one that's used through out the house.


 
  #10  
Old 03-01-22, 07:43 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,046
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
I would use it if it is the correct gauge..
It must #12 to go on a 20 amp or 15 amp circuit.
#14 can only go on a 15 amp circuit. The gauge should be printed on the cable jacket.
 
  #11  
Old 03-07-22, 10:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 428
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
It's a #12 on the jacket and breaker is 20amp. All receptacles in the two bedrooms and both celing fans/lights are all powered from the same line.

Just to have more understanding for myself as a DIY enthusiast, quick question is, I believe the ceiling fans commonly have #14 wires on them, is this aok, considering the line wire all the way back to the breaker is #12?


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: