please help with ceiling fan


  #1  
Old 02-10-22, 01:42 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
please help with ceiling fan

what is this blue wire on ceiling fan?
do i connect blue with red?
previuos ceiling fan didnt have a light and was controlled by string from fan… NOT A SWITCH

 
  #2  
Old 02-10-22, 02:24 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,297
Received 264 Upvotes on 215 Posts
I think that would normally be for a lighting kit; does the fixture have lights?
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-22, 02:40 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thnx for replying … yes this new one is a a ceiling fan with a light… the previous one i removed was JUST the fan…. and it is not controlled by a switch…. it was just controlled from the string on it
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-22, 02:45 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,077
Received 529 Upvotes on 433 Posts
The blue wire is for the light on the fan. If the old fan was connected black and white then use the red for the light.
Check the switch box for the red wire to connect to a switch. Or maybe it is already connected to a switch which does nothing.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-22, 02:56 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thank you for reply…. but yea i think the red was just capped off from the old ceiling fan and it is NOT controlled by any switch … to turn it on i would pull the string… so i do connect the blue with red?
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-22, 03:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,141 Upvotes on 3,719 Posts
If there is no wall switch then there is nothing to control the red wire.

Is this another manual fan with pull chains.... no remote ?
If that is correct..... connect the blue and black together to the black ceiling wire and use the pull chains.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 02-10-22, 04:02 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
whats up pj!!

thnx for the reply …. yes just a regular manual with strings (no remote) so just do what you said with the blue and black? cap off the red? the red is live as well
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-22, 04:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,141 Upvotes on 3,719 Posts
You could connect it to red.

Some day you'll find where that three wire cable goes to. It's relatively new NM-b cable so it's not that old meaning it was probably installed with two future switches in mind. Currently.... the red and black wires are connected to live.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: