Under cabinet lighting wire split routing?


  #1  
Old 04-25-22, 04:54 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Under cabinet lighting wire split routing?

Hi,
I am installing Govee under cabinet 4 pin RGB lighting and I need to run the 22awg jumper wire in 2 different directions but I cant figure out what connector/splitter I need to do it cleanly. There are splitters for the LED. Tape but doesnt seem to be anything for the wire.
the only thing I can think of is to get something like this and cram 3 wires of the same color into each terminal???
Any better ideas???
Thanks
Wade




 
  #3  
Old 04-25-22, 06:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,078
Received 3,422 Upvotes on 3,068 Posts
You can use small wire nuts too.

 
  #4  
Old 04-25-22, 06:27 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Those are for the LED tape itself. I need to t the jumper wires themselves not the tape. So it would be a jumper line composed of 4 individual 22awg guage wire that I want to t into a 4 wire jumper going up through the cabinet to the top and then a 4 wire jumper going down from the t through the floor that I am fishing to another set of cabinets on the other side of the room.

Thanks
Wade
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-22, 06:48 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,756
Received 676 Upvotes on 573 Posts
When I wire LED tape I typically use an 18/2 or 18/4 stat cable. Any splicing I do I just use wire nuts or crimp butt splices.
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-22, 11:58 AM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 1,144
Received 54 Upvotes on 48 Posts
  #7  
Old 05-16-22, 08:58 AM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring passing through a cabinet, floor or wall needs to be in a cable.

Cable meaning the wires are grouped together and contained in an outer jacket.

You cannot use individual wires.

Electrical wire splices must be contained in a box, the splice cannot be just left hanging out in the open.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: