How to remove/terminate old flood light properly


  #1  
Old 05-08-22, 02:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question How to remove/terminate old flood light properly

Flood light with motion sensor has a broken bracket, and the fixture is dangling below the soffit by the wires.

I havenít opened up the area yet, but I have some questions Ö

A. If I do not replace the light, how should I terminate the wires? Wire nuts and tape? I assume that I should add an electrical box if one is not present. I also assume that this box and cover needs to be weatherproof.

B. If I discover that the cabling is not up to current code, do I need to somehow replace the cable, bringing it up to code?

Thanks.

 
  #2  
Old 05-09-22, 01:18 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,269
Received 1,103 Upvotes on 1,003 Posts
If a box, wire nut the wires and install a cover. Some fixtures do not need a box so it could be a wire just sticking through the soffit. If your going to need that in the future install a box. If not needed trace the wire back and remove.
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-22, 10:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,061
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
There is no box there.
You should bring the wire into the back of a round weatherproof box.
Put a blank cover on if it's not going to be used.
4" weatherproof box

Otherwise you could pull the wire back into the attic and put it in a box there or find and terminate it.

 
AFJES voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 05-10-22, 01:40 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 835
Received 124 Upvotes on 104 Posts
PJMax's suggestion is quite valid and I agree that this would be your best way to go.
The weather resistant box would protect the wiring and also give you the ability to install another light at a later time in the future.

 
  #5  
Old 05-10-22, 01:53 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, is that cable accessible through that vent? It’s hard to tell from the pics what kind of cable is there, you may be able to cut an old work box in the ceiling and just install a blank cover on it, it all depends on your future plans.
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-22, 03:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the help.

I used the flush mount exterior round box. (Grabbed the non-metallic cover from HD, because their product page said it was frequently bought together with that box. Turns out that this plastic cover is wrong. It can be made to work, but the included screws are wrong for the box, and likewise the through holes were a tad small.)
 
  #7  
Old 05-13-22, 12:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,061
Received 3,420 Upvotes on 3,066 Posts
They make standard 4" blanks that may not fit a WP box.
You can use the standard 4" plate like shown below. They come in 1, 2, or 3 hole versions. Blanks are included to fill the unused holes. You could convert this plate later for a new light.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: