Ceiling Fan with no unswitched power


  #1  
Old 06-14-22, 08:57 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Ceiling Fan with no unswitched power

Hi All,
I couldn't find a post about this so I'm going to ask, even though I think I know what the answer is.

I want to put a ceiling fan (no light) at the top of the stairs using the existing box. The circuit has two lights, two 3way switches, and one 4way switch.

If I install with the wiring "as is" I will have to turn on the switch to run the fan. But that will also turn on the remaining light. That is not acceptable.

Is there a way to wire it so I can run the fan without the other light?
 
  #2  
Old 06-14-22, 01:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
You want to replace one of two hallways lights with a fan.
Don't you need a light where the fan is going ?

It doesn't matter how the circuit is switched.... it's where the power enters the circuit.
You'd have to drop that light and see what is in the box.
The chances are not good you'll find always live power there.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-22, 01:08 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I don't need a light there, at least not now.

And I already know that there is no unswitched power in that fixture, that's what I'm saying.

Any "Electric Man" secret wiring magic?

I'm thinking my only option is to pigtail it to an outlet.

 
  #4  
Old 06-14-22, 01:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
Sorry...no secret magic solution.
 
  #5  
Old 06-14-22, 01:13 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Rats!

lol

Thanks though.
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-22, 09:54 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,124
Received 425 Upvotes on 378 Posts
I do have a bit of a magic solution!

You can use remote controlled switches, or some type of simple home automation devices. Basically the lines remain always on, and you use the remote switches with the control box in the fan/light box to control the fan and light separately.

Here's an example. I'm not a huge fan of this one since it's an off-brand, likely with no UL listing.
https://www.amazon.com/Wireless-Rece.../dp/B09NC2837Y
They have similar remotes available for fan control too.

I would have thought that Lutron would have something in there Casseta line that would work, but I haven't been able to find one.

Also, slightly related, you'll most likely need to change out the box. Most ceiling boxes installed in hallways are not fan-rated and can easily work free and fall when hanging a heavy fan that moves.
 
  #7  
Old 06-15-22, 10:46 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Interesting, I will look into this.
Thank you!

 
  #8  
Old 06-15-22, 12:05 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
And don't forget if you do put a fan there it needs the proper box for support!
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 06-15-22, 12:49 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Yupp.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: