Help replacing Hampton Bay fan receiver


  #1  
Old 08-06-22, 02:09 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Help replacing Hampton Bay fan receiver

I need a new receiver for my Halton Bay fan. It has up and down lights. I can't get the original anymore. I don't need I've that dims lights, just something that turns then off and on separately. Could somebody recommend a third party remote that would work here?
 
  #2  
Old 08-06-22, 08:36 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
If it's the fan with the remote in the canopy then there are many replacements.
Hampton Bay kit

If it's the type of fan with the built in the motor receiver... it's more involved.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-22, 12:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks, but the problem is that only supports a single light. I have lights on the top and the bottom. All the ones I've found have only one light.
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-22, 02:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
Sorry... I misread.

You had the Hampton Bay FAN28RUDLKIT.
The replacement for that kit is the RR7078TUDLKIT
The UDL stands for Up Down Light

Anderic universal kit.
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-22, 03:51 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ah ok. I was searching for top and bottom light. Does this work? It's amazon prime:

BAYICON Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control and Receiver Kit
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-22, 08:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
Sure... that will work and at considerable savings.
 
  #7  
Old 08-07-22, 12:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ok good to know. I'm wondering about how these fans work--would it be better to run 4-wire all the way from a wall switch or something to these two fans? The problem is that they're both significantly high and it's a real pain to try to change these things out. I find myself having to rent an extendible ladder.
 
  #8  
Old 08-07-22, 02:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
You would need real four wire cable.
That's four conductors red, black, blue and white plus ground.
 
  #9  
Old 08-07-22, 06:51 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Oh ok. I can live with this I suppose. Is there any way to increase the max speed of the fan somehow? It seems like one moves faster than the other.
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-22, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
Does your fan also have pull chains ?
If it does make sure the fan is set to the high position.
It goes high, medium, low and off.

If there are no pull chains... there won't be a way to speed the fan up.
 
  #11  
Old 08-08-22, 11:57 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 351
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks. I'll have to check that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: