Doorbell chime with built-in transformer


  #1  
Old 08-20-22, 06:34 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Doorbell chime with built-in transformer

When I bought the house, the doorbell chime had been removed. The two wires from the push-button run directly to the outlet box shown in this picture, along with 120V. There is no transformer elsewhere in the house, and there's no break in the wires. It appears the original chime must have had a built-in transformer, but I am having a very hard time finding a replacement. (And I suspect the previous owner had the same problem since the chime was removed.) Am I confused about this wiring, or do I just need to look harder for a chime with a built-in transformer?


Outlet box with 120V and two low-voltage wires routed to the front door.
 
  #2  
Old 08-20-22, 07:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
They don't make a chime with a transformer in it.
Technically... 120v and low voltage are not supposed to be in the same junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-22, 02:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The house was built in 1975, but I can't tell if this outlet box is original. Any guesses about what was here previously? Is my only option to add a transformer somewhere else in the house and reroute the low voltage wires to it?
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-22, 02:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
If a customer asked me to put a chime there.... I would get the low voltage wire out of the box.
I would install a receptacle and use a wall wart there. You can find them in white.
Install chime right below the receptacle.

16v white adapter
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-22, 07:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That looks like a good option. I'll try that. Thank you!
 
  #6  
Old 08-22-22, 08:31 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,532
Upvotes: 0
Received 279 Upvotes on 255 Posts
Or maybe separate transformer and chime were installed side by side at that location.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: