How to pull continiuous power off a 3 way wall switch?


  #1  
Old 11-26-22, 05:39 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
How to pull continiuous power off a 3 way wall switch?

I have a 3 way switch in my home and garage so I can turn on and off my garage lights from either one. My question is can I tap into the wall switch in the garage somehow to get continuous power to a garage door opener? I also have 4 lights in my garage ceiling, is there anyway I could draw continuous power from one of those? The picture below shows how my switches and lights should be wired, can someone show me how to run a constant hot wire to my door opener, thanks...



 
  #2  
Old 11-28-22, 07:46 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,049
Received 141 Upvotes on 123 Posts
An AFCI detects the electrical signature of an arc, while a GFCI compares the current flowing in a HOT conductor to the current flowing in the NEUTRAL conductor associated with that hot. If the GFCI detects a difference of more than 5 Millsaps, it trips.

AFCIs are intended to protect against fire and GFCIs are intended to protect against shock.​​​​​​​
 
joed voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 11-30-22, 12:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,414
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
If the cable going to the opener receptacle comes off the load terminals of the gfi it will be protected.
 
2john02458 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 11-26-22, 06:22 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,372
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
The only place constant power is available in that diagram is the left most switch box.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-22, 06:38 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 2,878
Received 227 Upvotes on 201 Posts
This is not a good approach as both the garage lights and opener are inoperable when the source cable's circuit breaker opens. Best to have a dedicated circuit breaker for the opener. If you don't care, you need to connect the opener AC wires to the black and white wires of the source cable at the first junction box, assuming the source cable goes directly to a circuit breaker on the other end.
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-22, 06:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I may have to get an electrician over here, that left most switch box with the power source coming to it from the panel box is the one in the house, all the wires are already in the wall behind the drywall, the only wiring I can get at is in the garage switch and ceiling lights.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-22, 08:14 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Can I just run my 12-2 wire from my last wall receptacle in the garage up to the new electrical box for the garage door opener? All my garage receptacles are on one circuit and it should be like just adding another receptacle, it would be the easiest option for me.
 
  #8  
Old 11-26-22, 08:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Current code calls for the garage door to be on a GFI protected circuit.
Connecting the opener to the garage circuit should work ok. It's probably already GFI protected.
No big deal if it trips as you have an alternate way into the garage.
 
  #9  
Old 11-27-22, 05:28 PM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 349
Received 41 Upvotes on 36 Posts
Current code calls for the garage door to be on a GFI protected circuit.
Why?
 
  #10  
Old 11-28-22, 05:18 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
My electrical wiring and panel box is new, I have all new arch fault breakers, shouldn't that act as a GFI protected circuit?
 
  #11  
Old 11-28-22, 07:15 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,372
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
GFCI and AFCI are not the same thing.
 
  #12  
Old 11-29-22, 03:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 143
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I'll pull out the first receptacle on my garage circuit and put in a GFCI receptacle. Seeing that the garage door opener will be the last receptacle on the circuit that should make it GFCI protected, correct?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: