Advice for outdoor lighting safety/durability

Old 02-28-24, 01:03 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 49 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Advice for outdoor lighting safety/durability

I'm building a poultry coop that I want to put electric lights in to keep the hens "on the job" when the days are short. The coop's frame is made from wood. Unless I change my mind I'm going to butt the coop up against (and anchor it to) a wooden shed that's electrified and has a 115vac outlet ready and waiting. Instead of using individual bulbs I figure to use an LED rope light that I'll snake through coop's framework.

I've got no experience with rigging outdoor electrical contraptions like and I'm only guessing at how I should pass the power cord through the wall of the shed, and whether I need to take special precautions to protect whatever connections that will be outside of the shed and exposed to rain and whatnot.

One thing I thought to try was to cut the male end off of a reasonably heavy extension cord, find a rubber grommet that suits the diameter of the extension cord, and drill a hole sized to the grommet through the wall of the shed near where I'll put the coop. Install the grommet in the hole in the wall, pass the cut-off end of the extension cord through the grommet, then solder and tape the male end back on the extension cord. That way the part that's been mended will be inside the shed and protected from rain.

I don't want to burn down the coop or electrocute the hens (or me) so the biggest question is what to do with the outdoor electrical connection(s) (of which there should only be one). Since the frame is wooden, is it "safe enough" to fasten the connection to a bit of the wooden frame where there isn't anything metal? Maybe zip-tie it to the wood?