Convert switched outlet to recessed lights


  #1  
Old 04-17-24, 05:04 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Convert switched outlet to recessed lights

Hi All. I currently have a switch operating an outlet. I would like to have the outlet remain live all the time and reuse the switch to control 4 recessed lights that I plan to install in the ceiling. Need some advice on how to convert the outlet so its always live. Also, do I just remove any old wiring to the swich and start with fresh wire going up the wall to the first recessed light?

Thanks

Rick
 
  #2  
Old 04-18-24, 05:43 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
I can help with this, but first you will need to provide some info.
You can use the same switch and convert it to operate the new fixtures.
To determine how to wire this you first need to tell us the wiring at the switch and the currently switched receptacle and if you can get a cable from the new lights to the switch or the receptacle.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 04-18-24, 03:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,431
Received 4,050 Upvotes on 3,633 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Good info from joed.
Pictures of the wiring at the two locations would be extremely helpful..... How to insert pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-24, 06:38 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Joed and Pete! Here are some pics of both the outlet and the switch.

Outlet 1

Outlet closer

Switch photo

switch
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-24, 05:50 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
Now you need to tell us which junction box you want to feed the new fixture cable into. It can be done from either one.
 
  #6  
Old 04-19-24, 06:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Joed. This room is on the first floor with unfinished basement below and bedrooms above. Should have attached a photo of the room so you could see the outlet and the switch. I would probably feed the new recessed lights cable up from the switch.

 
  #7  
Old 04-19-24, 02:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,431
Received 4,050 Upvotes on 3,633 Posts
Connecting to the switch is the best idea.

Move the red wire to the black/hot splice wirenut.
Connect your new cable to white/neutral and the now open terminal on the switch.
Connect grounds.


 
joed voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 04-20-24, 09:10 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Awesome, thanks Pete. So I wouldn't need to change any of the wires on the outlet, they can stay as is? Also,
is 14/2 cable with ground okay to use to run from the switch up to the recessed lights? I'll have 4 recessed lights total in the ceiling to be powered by the switch.

Thanks!!!!

Rick
 
  #9  
Old 04-20-24, 08:12 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
is 14/2 cable with ground okay to use to run from the switch up to the recessed lights?
That depends on the current circuit. If it is a 15 amp circuit then #14 is fine. However if it is a 20 amp circuit then you must use #12 cable.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: