Puck light power cord replacement


  #1  
Old 06-23-24, 09:19 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Puck light power cord replacement

Hello,

I bought an entertainment center from someone and it has puck lights. There are 3 lights that are all connected with a wire harness but there is no power cord leading to the wall. So Im not sure if there should be an inline box on the power cord or not. The guy I bought it from said from what he remembers the cord has a on/off switch in the middle but he cant remember if there was a box in the cord or not.

any help pointing me to the correct power cord would be appreciated

please see the pictures below


Top of the puck light

The wires from each light are plugged into a wire harness(not shown here)

The only tag on the furniture

This is what the ends of the wires look like, the end of the harness that all lights are plugged into look like this as well
 
  #2  
Old 06-23-24, 02:50 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Jun 2024
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah, you’ll have to get your own cord and switch. Cut those connectors off and splice wires on to extend them to the switch. I use wiremold boxes for stuff like that.
 
  #3  
Old 06-23-24, 02:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
The furniture label is of no help. The harness picture would be more helpful.
We can't help you unless we know the voltage of those lights.
 
  #4  
Old 06-23-24, 03:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax I agree the label is no help but that is the only label and figured I would post it as well. The harness is literally just a harness that connects the three lights together. As far as the voltage all I know it it plugs into the wall. If you zoom in on the pic of the back of the light it looks like it says 10v but maybe Im wrong. I hope this helps you help me get the right cord or whatever I need.

 
  #5  
Old 06-23-24, 03:03 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Fidgit i can buy a new cord and switch. Is there a specific kind of cord? Is there a transformer that will need to be used? Wasnt sure if I put 120v to them if it would be ok?
 
  #6  
Old 06-23-24, 03:19 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If they are 10v can I use the following cable? I know I will have to put in a switch too.


 
  #7  
Old 06-23-24, 04:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
It looks like it might say 10v with a partial manufactures name.
Can you see the actual bulb ?
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-24, 04:47 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax , Today 07:34 PM
It looks like it might say 10v with a partial manufactures name.
Can you see the actual bulb ?

PJmax yes there is a name besides the 10V, it says Rheinland and before the 10v it says D1-6.

also, I am not sure how to get to the bulb but here is a picture.



 
  #9  
Old 06-23-24, 05:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
Very good.
That is a bi-pin bulb. It doesn't look like a typical halogen bulb.... no filament.
So I'm guessing LED.
The power supply you are showing should take care of the job.
.
There may be polarity involved as this is DC.
Try it briefly connected in one direction. If it doesn't work.... reverse the wires.

 
  #10  
Old 06-23-24, 05:31 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax I see in the close up you posted it says 12V20W

also, in one of the original pictures I posted the clip on the cord has a square side and a half square side, was wondering if one typically represents positive and negative.

after looking at it it might have a filament 🤷‍♂️ hard to tell. I will take a closer look tomorrow when I get home. If it does have a filament that makes it halogen, correct? And if that is the case can I still use the same plug I posted earlier?


 

Last edited by Robbiejames; 06-23-24 at 05:41 PM.
  #11  
Old 06-23-24, 05:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
Wow... you can see that. I can't.

12v and 20 watts could mean it's a halogen bulb with filament. That bulb in the picture may be bad.
20 / 12 = 1.6 amps per bulb.

I'd recommend getting LED bulbs..... Warm white LED 12v bipin bulbs
You could try yours first to see what happens. Don't know what the polarity is.
 
  #12  
Old 06-23-24, 05:54 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax yeah what I think is a filament I drew a red arrow pointing at it. As far as the 12V20W I see that by Turing your zoomed in pic to the side. But I like the idea of getting the suggested bulbs and that power cable. I will order both and see what happens. I appreciate the help. I will let you know what happens.
 
  #13  
Old 06-24-24, 08:20 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax , Yesterday 08:47 PM
Wow... you can see that. I can't

PJmax i got home and took a closer look and there is a filament. The one is no good so I got to figure how to open them to replace the bulbs. Im going to order the bulbs you suggested and that cord I posted as well.



 
  #14  
Old 06-24-24, 09:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
The bulb is replaceable so that glass lens must come out.
The rubber gasket may have become hardened with age.
 
  #15  
Old 06-26-24, 01:35 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
PJmax once again thank you for all your help. Instead of buying new bulbs and the power adapter for about $20 I decided to go with this set from Amazon. They have a dimmer built in and for about $10 more I couldn't pass them up.
https://a.co/d/07ZkZ5Db


 
  #16  
Old 06-26-24, 08:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,979
Received 4,152 Upvotes on 3,729 Posts
Good thinking. I agree.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: