What's a PWC?

Old 03-28-04, 11:48 AM
stanky1
Visiting Guest
What's a PWC?

One of my favorite things to do is SCUBA dive. I have been doing it for over 25 years. A lot of my dives are at night because lobsters come out in the dark. It isn't easy to find another diver who is willing to go at night, so I often go alone. In fact, I am so used to diving alone that I rarely even look for a dive-buddy anymore. You may think I'm foolish, but aside from being a solo diver for about 20 years now, I used to be a research diver at Scripps Institute of Oceanography, and I also worked as an ocean lifeguard for 6 years. I have learned to be self-reliant and careful.

I have always been a beach diver, because boats were expensive and somewhat of a hassle. I recently found a new dive spot that is a bit farther offshore, however. The long swim out has apparently provided too much time for me to reassess what I am doing. (Plus there were a couple of Great White Sharks that spent last summer hanging out off San Onofre beach, and I am not too far away) So I have been thinking about a boat or something that I can drag my carcass out of the water onto, if needed.

My first thought was to get a PWC, commonly called a wave runner. The problem is that they don't have running lights for night use, and are not legal at night even if they were retofitted with lights. I don't understand why this rule exists. It seems like someone got carried away with themselves, like my homeowners association often does. An inflatable boat, which can be just as small, is not considered a PWC and CAN be used at night - to my understanding. Am I right on this?

Now comes another type of water craft called a Rhino Rider. It is sort of a mix between a wave runner and an inflatable boat. Can this be fitted with running lights and used at night? What's the definition of a PWC? These rules don't make sense.

Last edited by stanky1; 03-28-04 at 09:45 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 03-28-04, 12:33 PM
Admin Emeritus