Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Float adjustment in a carb

MI

07-23-04, 11:18 AM   #1  
Float adjustment in a carb

Hi all,
I have an 86 bayliner with a 225E Volvo Penta engine. I recently rebuilt the crab due the an abnoral amount of fuel in the water. Good news is, its running much better, bad news, its still disbursing a little fuel. The rebuild included gaskets, a a new float and needle. I was told if I was having float problems to just purchase new. Long story short, the kit never came with float adjustment specs. I just adjusted it so when I turn the carb upside down or the float in the closed position. the float does not exceed the rim level. I know there is an actual spec. Does anyone have any idea what is may be. I had a service book, but I cant seem to find it anywhere. Also, I am an novice carb guy so any help or suggestions on adjusting this float assembly would be most appreciated.
Thanks,

Brian

Sponsored Links
Admin Emeritus

CAL

07-23-04, 03:02 PM   #2  
Hello: Brian

When the carb is inverted upside down with the bowl off, the float should be level. Standard setting and adjustment for float carbs. If this is what you mean and have done, the setting should be correct.

Chances are some unseen fuel passage in the baody of the carb is still blocked or restricted. Try using an can of carb cleaner with those plastic tube extensions. Insert he plastic tube into every visable opening and passage and blast out any gum, clog, blockage and or restriction.

Be sure to do likewise to any external fuel adjustment screw opening. Remove the screw and blast into it. Wear eye protection!

Count the number of turns it takes to lightly bottom out the screw first to know it's exact setting outwards. Reinstall the screw(s) outwards the same amount it took to bottom it out lightly.