Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

New to boating, first boat checklist help

Visiting Guest

04-25-05, 05:49 AM   #1  
Terry720
New to boating, first boat checklist help

Hello all,

My name's Terry and as the title indicates...I'm new to boating. Well, power boating that is. I've sailed for a number of years, but it just didn't hold my wife and daughters interest so I folded, sold the sailboat, and just bought a VERY cheap powerboat.

It's a 1972 17' Trisonic I/O with a 165hp 6cyl and a mercruiser drive. I bought the boat sight-unseen off eBay and will be picking it up this weekend. I know it's generally not a good idea to do that...especially when you know very little about boats...but the guy trades in high-dollar commercial items and has a long record of satisfied customers on eBay so I feel comfortable with the decision and believe his description will turn out to be accurate. Here's the site for the auction if you're interested: LINK

That said, I also know that there is a lot I need to learn about power-boating that I don't know...so I thought it would be a good idea to ask for help. I'm mechanically inclined, and know my way around a car's engine compartment...but we're not talking about a car here.

So here's what I'm asking for! Put yourself in my shoes. You're bringing home a old used boat that "runs great" and has a drive that's "in good condition".

What do you do? What do you look for?

As an example, I've already learned from reading here that you have to hook up a hose to the engine in order to start it up when you're not in the water. I knew I wanted to start it up and tune the engine and that it would need water but I had no idea how I was supposed to supply it. I'm happy to hear it's as easy as hooking up a hose.

Basically I'm looking for a checklist.
-Look at this (it should look like....)